Night Shadows - Forbidden Iceland 3 (Paperback)
  • Night Shadows - Forbidden Iceland 3 (Paperback)
zoom

Night Shadows - Forbidden Iceland 3 (Paperback)

(author), (translator)
5 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£9.99
Paperback 276 Pages
Published: 21/07/2022
  • 5+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

Icelandic detective Elma faces mortal danger as she investigates the death of a young man in a mysterious Akranes house fire, and a Dutch au pair’s perfect placement turns deadly … The breathtaking third instalment in the award-winning Forbidden Iceland series.

***WINNER of the CWA John Creasey (New Blood) Dagger***

‘Her best, boldest work to date: a mystery both merciless and compassionate, subtly eerie yet flat-out frightening, featuring a detective as complicated as Jo Nesbø’s Harry Hole. This is virtuoso suspense writing’ A J Finn
 
‘Chilling and addictive, with a completely unexpected twist … I loved it’ Shari Lapena
 
‘Another beautifully written novel from one of the rising stars of Nordic Noir’ Victoria Selman
_________________________

The small community of Akranes is devastated when a young man dies in a mysterious house fire, and when Detective Elma and her colleagues from West Iceland CID discover the fire was arson, they become embroiled in an increasingly perplexing case involving multiple suspects. What’s more, the dead man’s final online search raises fears that they could be investigating not one murder, but two.

A few months before the fire, a young Dutch woman takes a job as an au pair in Iceland, desperate to make a new life for herself after the death of her father. But the seemingly perfect family who employs her turns out to have problems of its own and she soon discovers she is running out of people to turn to.

As the police begin to home in on the truth, Elma, already struggling to come to terms with a life-changing event, finds herself in mortal danger as it becomes clear that someone has secrets they’ll do anything to hide…
____________________________

‘A creepily compelling Icelandic mystery that had me hooked from page one. Night Shadows will make you want to sleep with the lights on’ Heidi Amsinck
 
‘I loved everything about this book: the characters, the setting, the storyline, an intricately woven cast … this book had me utterly gripped!’ J M Hewitt
 
‘With the third release in the Forbidden Iceland series, Eva Björg establishes herself as not just one of the brightest names in Icelandic crime fiction, but in crime fiction full stop. Night Shadows is an absolute must-read!’ Nordic Watchlist
 
‘The author writes so beautifully you are immediately immersed in the chilly surrounds … a genuinely excellent novel’ Liz Loves Books
 
‘One of the most compelling contemporary writers of crime fiction and psychological suspense’ Duncan Beattie,Fiction from Afar
 
Praise for the Forbidden Iceland series:
 
‘Fans of Nordic Noir will love this’ Ann Cleeves

‘Elma is a fantastic heroine’ Sunday Times

‘Complex, gripping and moving’ The Times

‘An exciting and harrowing tale’ Ragnar Jónasson

‘Eerie and chilling. I loved every word!’ Lesley Kara

‘Not only a full-fat mystery, but also a chilling demonstration of how monsters are made’ The Times

‘Beautifully written, spine-tingling and disturbing … a thrilling new voice in Icelandic crime fiction’ Yrsa Sigurðardóttir

‘As chilling and atmospheric as an Icelandic winter’ Lisa Gray

‘An unsettling and exciting read with a couple of neat red herrings to throw the reader off the scent’ NB Magazine

‘Chilling and troubling … reminiscent of Jorn Lier Horst‘s Norwegian procedurals. This is a book that makes an impact’ Crime Fiction Lover

‘Elma is a memorably complex character’ Financial Times

‘The twist comes out of the blue … enthralling’ Tap The Line Magazine

For fans of Ragnar Jonasson, Camilla Lackberg, Ruth Rendell, Gillian McAllister and Shari Lapen

Publisher: Orenda Books
ISBN: 9781914585203
Number of pages: 276
Dimensions: 198 x 129 mm

You may also be interested in...

Killing Moon
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The World of Hercule Poirot
Added to basket
The Raging Storm
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
A Death in the Parish
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Bullet That Missed
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Think Twice
Added to basket
£22.00
Hardback
A Good Girl's Guide to Murder
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Secret
Added to basket
£22.00
Hardback
Strange Sally Diamond
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
I Will Find You
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Cloisters
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Homecoming
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Past Lying
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Butter
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback
Think Twice
Added to basket
£22.00   £11.00
Hardback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
TripFiction

“Psychological thriller set in ICELAND”

Detective Elma of West Iceland CID has a puzzle on her hands when a young man called Marinó dies in a house fire in the small Icelandic town of Akranes. Investigations reveal that the fire was set deliberately, and... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3

“Taught, complex and multi-layered”

When a young man, Marinó, is found dead at the scene of a house fire confusion reigns. The house was locked and only a limited amount of damage was done before the emergency services got the scene under control. Is... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2
Raven88

“A satisfying blend of psychological thriller and police procedural...”

In the blistering heatwave it was incredibly good to escape to Iceland for the third book in Eva Björg Ægisdóttir’s Forbidden Iceland series. Following The Creak On The Stairs and Girls Who Lie, Detective Elma... More

Paperback edition
5 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 2

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: