SOLD: What will it take to find freedom? (Paperback)
  • SOLD: What will it take to find freedom? (Paperback)
zoom

SOLD: What will it take to find freedom? (Paperback)

(author)
£8.99
Paperback 272 Pages
Published: 01/02/2023
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

15-year-old Roza thinks she's leaving Albania for better things in the UK. As she arrives, she realises her father has sold her to get out of debt.

Adelina and Jozif Braka now consider Roza their property. They work her hard, beat and starve her, and refuse to let her go out. But she must tell people they are her parents. She runs to the police, but the Brakas produce a forged birth certificate. She is dismissed as attention-seeking and returned to them for punishment.

She doesn't think life can get much worse. However, when she tries to escape, she's sent to a holding house full of other enslaved girls.

This appears to be the first British YA novel to explore child trafficking.

It should appeal to fans of Miriam Halahmy, Anne Cassidy, and Laurie Halse Anderson.

'A riveting read, well researched and very informative about a little known subject... powerful, gritty and engrossing... will attract both teen and adult readers. Essential, compelling, deeply moving.'

- Miriam Halahmy

Publisher: Cadence Publishing
ISBN: 9781914578083
Number of pages: 272
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 18 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'Compulsively readable, harrowing yet hopeful, this YA debut shines a fierce light into the shadows of child trafficking.' THE GUARDIAN; 'A riveting read, well researched and very informative about a little-known subject... powerful, gritty and engrossing... will attract both teen and adult readers. Essential, compelling, deeply moving.' - MIRIAM HALAHMY, author of Hidden; 'SOLD deals with important issues within an exciting story. I was gripped from the first page and travelled with Roza on every step of her horrifying journey.' - CHERITH BALDRY (writes as ERIN HUNTER, Warrior Cats series); 'SOLD is a gripping adventure story about a very important real-world problem, told with conviction and plenty of hard-hitting detail. Roza's story is entirely believable.' - JANE JOHNSON, author and publisher;

You may also be interested in...

Tom Gates: Book of Everything
Added to basket
£12.99   £9.99
Hardback
The Inheritance Games
Added to basket
The Hunger Games
Added to basket
Ruthless Vows
Added to basket
£14.99
Hardback
Shatter Me
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
Powerful
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The End Crowns All
Added to basket
Heartstopper Volume 5
Added to basket
£12.99   £10.99
Paperback
Five Survive
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Immortal Dark
Added to basket
£18.99
Hardback
The Crimson Moth
Added to basket
Sunrise on the Reaping
Added to basket
Better Than the Movies
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Only Light Left Burning
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: