Bendtner: Both Sides (Paperback)
  • Bendtner: Both Sides (Paperback)
zoom

Bendtner: Both Sides (Paperback)

(author), (author)
£12.99
Paperback 360 Pages / Published: 08/10/2020
  • 10+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

***

WINNER OF 2019 DANISH SPORTS BOOK OF THE YEAR

'Brutally candid.'
- The Guardian

'An extraordinary, granular depiction of a young football star's life.' - The Daily Mail

'One of the best books I've read about being a Premier League star.' - Piers Morgan

'An excellent read with some incredible stories.' - TalkSPORT Breakfast Show

'One of the best football books I've read for a very long time.' - Sam Pilger, FourFourTwo Magazine

'Explosive.' - The Mirror

'Candid and brilliant.' - Nick Wright, Sky Sports

Known as 'Lord Bendtner' to his fans and haters alike, Nicklas Bendtner has been lauded for his football skills at super clubs like Arsenal and Juventus. But his career was haunted by his rocky behaviour and tendency to self-sabotage.

Very much a fable of the modern game, Bendtner talks with disarming honesty about the darker side of football and his own difficult fall from grace; about what it's like to have so much promise that you lose touch with reality altogether.

It's is about growing up in a working class neighbourhood and what happens when you give a troubled, overconfident teen millions to spend. It's about fighting to reach the top in the worlds' toughest league but having no respect for hierarchy.

It's about friendship, rivalry, and the constant quest for an adrenaline kick. It's about money - having too much of it - and an industry that has lost sight of what really matters.

A modern footballing fable, it's a story of decline, temper, talent, great football and ultimately the tragedy of unfulfilled potential.

Not since the days of Paul McGrath's Back From The Brink have we seen such honesty on the page of a footballer's memoir. Fans of Paul Merson, George Best and Tony Adam's autobiographies will also find pure fascination here in a story that has gripped international readers...

Publisher: Octopus Publishing Group
ISBN: 9781913183622
Number of pages: 360
Weight: 460 g
Dimensions: 234 x 152 x 28 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Explosive -- The Mirror
Bendtner is wired differently from the rest of us. -- The Guardian
Entertaining, well-written and raw. -- Politiken Newspaper
Unusually well-written, you are sucked in from the first line...a brilliant narrative of a turbulent life. -- Berlingske newspaper
An extraordinary, granular depiction of a young football star's life. -- The Daily Mail
Nicklas Bendtner's autobiography is a brutally candid and ultimately moving lament of the mistakes he made and the lessons he learned. A sobering insight into the mind of a young footballer seduced by the trappings of the Premier League. -- The Guardian
One of the best books I've read about being a Premier League star with all the problems and stuff that goes with it. -- Piers Morgan
An excellent read with some incredible stories. -- TalkSPORT Breakfast show
Candid and brilliant. -- Nick Wright * Sky Sports *

You may also be interested in...

The Second Half
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Red: My Autobiography
Added to basket
Mini Finger Football (UK Edition, Mega Mini Kit)
Added to basket
Immortal
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Provided You Don't Kiss Me
Added to basket
Keane
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Cantona
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Angels With Dirty Faces
Added to basket
Fever Pitch
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Soccer Drills
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
In Search of Duncan Ferguson
Added to basket
Football Against The Enemy
Added to basket
Pele: The Autobiography
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Anatomy of Liverpool
Added to basket

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.