We Shall Inherit the Wind - Varg Veum (Paperback)
  • We Shall Inherit the Wind - Varg Veum (Paperback)
zoom

We Shall Inherit the Wind - Varg Veum (Paperback)

(author), (translator)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 271 Pages / Published: 15/06/2015
  • In stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Varg Veum takes on the perplexing case of a missing wind-farm inspector and gets more than he bargained for, as religious zealots, environmental terrorism and then murder take centre stage ... The gripping next instalment in the award-winning Varg Veum series, by one of the fathers of Nordic Noir. 'Not many books hook you in the first chapter - this one did, and never let go!' Mari Hannah 'Mature and captivating' Rosemary Goring, Herald Scotland 'Moving, uncompromising' Publishers Weekly _________________ 1998. Varg Veum sits by the hospital bedside of his long-term girlfriend Karin, whose life-threatening injuries provide a deeply painful reminder of the mistakes he's made. Investigating the seemingly innocent disappearance of a wind-farm inspector, Varg Veum is thrust into one of the most challenging cases of his career, riddled with conflicts, environmental terrorism, religious fanaticism, unsolved mysteries and dubious business ethics. Then, in one of the most heart-stopping scenes in crime fiction, the first body appears... A chilling, timeless story of love, revenge and desire, We Shall Inherit the Wind deftly weaves contemporary issues with a stunning plot that will leave you gripped to the final page. This is Staalesen at his most thrilling, thought-provoking best. _________________ Praise for Gunnar Staalesen 'There is a world-weary existential sadness that hangs over his central detective. The prose is stripped back and simple ... deep emotion bubbling under the surface - the real turmoil of the characters' lives just under the surface for the reader to intuit, rather than have it spelled out for them' Doug Johnstone, The Big Issue 'Gunnar Staalesen is one of my very favourite Scandinavian authors. Operating out of Bergen in Norway, his private eye, Varg Veum, is a complex but engaging anti-hero. Varg means "wolf " in Norwegian, and this is a series with very sharp teeth' Ian Rankin 'Staalesen continually reminds us he is one of the finest of Nordic novelists' Financial Times 'Chilling and perilous results - all told in a pleasingly dry style' Sunday Times 'Staalesen does a masterful job of exposing the worst of Norwegian society in this highly disturbing entry' Publishers Weekly 'The Varg Veum series is more concerned with character and motivation than spectacle, and it's in the quieter scenes that the real drama lies' Herald Scotland 'Every inch the equal of his Nordic confreres Henning Mankell and Jo Nesbo' Independent'With an expositional style that is all but invisible, Staalesen masterfully compels us from the first pages ... If you're a fan of Varg Veum, this is not to be missed, and if you're new to the series, this is one of the best ones. You're encouraged to jump right in, even if the Norwegian names can be a bit confusing to follow' Crime Fiction Lover 'With short, smart, darkly punchy chapters Wolves at the Door is a provocative and gripping read' LoveReading 'Haunting, dark and totally noir, a great read' New Books Magazine 'An upmarket Philip Marlowe' Maxim Jakubowski, The Bookseller 'Razor-edged Scandinavian crime fiction at its finest' Quentin Bates

Publisher: Orenda Books
ISBN: 9781910633076
Number of pages: 271
Weight: 204 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 23 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
'The characters in the book are drawn with more nuances and more psychological insight than in most crime novels - there is generally something Ibsenian about this detective novel in which past sins play such an important part in the present' Bergens Tidende 'The Norwegian Chandler' Jo Nesbo 'One of the finest Nordic novelists in the tradition of Henning Mankell' Barry Forshaw, Independent 'Staalesen's mastery of pacing enables him to develop his characters in a leisurely way without sacrificing tension and suspense' Publishers Weekly

You may also be interested in...

The Lamplighters
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Daughters of Night
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Black Drop
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Greenwich Park
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
JUDAS 62
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Slow Horses
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Not Dark Yet
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Appeal
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Essex Serpent
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Dark Hours
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Not a Happy Family
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Midnight Hour
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Khan
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
If We Were Villains
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Better Off Dead
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback

“Nordic Noir at its Best”

We Shall Inherit The Wind – Nordic Noir at its Best

We Shall Inherit The Wind by Gunnar Staalesen is the latest in his canon to be translated in to English and published by Orenda Books. Who? Gunnar Staalesen is one... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 6

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.