Unlost: A journey of self-discovery and the healing power of the wild outdoors (Paperback)
  • Unlost: A journey of self-discovery and the healing power of the wild outdoors (Paperback)
zoom

Unlost: A journey of self-discovery and the healing power of the wild outdoors (Paperback)

(author)
£8.99
Paperback 352 Pages / Published: 07/09/2021
  • 10+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

Gail Muller was told she'd be in a wheelchair by the age of forty. At forty-one she set out to hike one of the world's toughest treks, The Appalachian Trail - a 2,200-mile journey that would help her reclaim her life and heal her mind and body. An inspiring, moving and uplifting memoir for fans of Cheryl Strayed's Wild and Elizabeth Gilbert's Eat, Pray, Love.

As Gail took her first steps through the wilderness of the USA, she had no idea what lay ahead of her, but she knew she felt burnout from city life, lost and broken - ready to heal a mind and body that she had battled with for so long.

From the resilience-building mountain climbs, painful injuries and harsh reality of braving the raw elements, to the unexpected friendships forged with other hikers and the kindness of strangers offering food and shelter - with every step, Gail started to let go of a past dominated by chronic pain and reconnected with herself in a way she'd never been able to before.

A love letter to the healing power of the wild outdoors and an incredible testament to the strength of the human spirit, Gail's story is for anyone who has ever felt stuck in a rut, lost or scared. She shows us that even in our darkest times, it's possible to find our inner grit, face our fears and feel hopeful.


Read what everyone is saying about Unlost:

'Amazing!... OMG! I really loved your book!... I'm not a crier, but your last chapter had me almost in tears. So (wonderfully) emotional.' NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars

'Had me hooked from the beginning...This book is for so many people...it's fun and interesting and the various trail families and characters are terrific... a gem of a book.' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

'I found myself holding my breath... I felt like I was right there with her.' NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars

'Inspirational... made me snort or chuckle - or suck in my breath. I read the book in more or less a day - I just had to consume it... a joy to read.' NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars

'Gail writes with humour, heart and passion.' Giovanna Fletcher, Sunday Times #1 bestselling author

'I loved this book so much. I was so invested from the very start... Was sad for this one to end! Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

'Loved this open and honest book! It was so raw and real you feel like you get to know the author like a friend. I loved hearing about her adventures and life.' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

'Inspiring... illustrates the power of the great outdoors and the positive effects it can have on body and mind.' Jordan Wylie, Adventurer and Bestselling Author

Publisher: Octopus Publishing Group
ISBN: 9781909770676
Number of pages: 352
Weight: 300 g
Dimensions: 196 x 126 x 30 mm

You may also be interested in...

The Fear Bubble
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Salt Path
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The View from the Hill
Added to basket
The Book of Trespass
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Moth and the Mountain
Added to basket
£10.99   £8.99
Paperback
Soldier
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Peak District 2016
Added to basket
Mountains Of The Mind
Added to basket
The Secret World of Weather
Added to basket
Olive, Mabel & Me
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Wild Silence
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
New Forest
Added to basket
£8.99
Sheet map, folded
The Peak District
Added to basket
£8.99
Sheet map, folded
Lizard, Falmouth and Helston
Added to basket

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.