Things We Left Unsaid: The award-winning bestseller (Paperback)
  • Things We Left Unsaid: The award-winning bestseller (Paperback)
zoom

Things We Left Unsaid: The award-winning bestseller (Paperback)

(author)
£14.99
Paperback 352 Pages / Published: 02/05/2013
  • We can order this from the publisher

Usually dispatched within 10 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

A heartwarming and humorous insight into the hopes and aspirations of Iranians in the years that led up to the Islamic Revolution

Deep in an Iranian suburb, made rich by the booming oil industry, Clarice Ayvazian lives a comfortable life surrounded by the gentle bickering of her children and her gossiping friends and relatives. Happy being at the heart of her family, she devotes herself to their every need. But when an enigmatic Armenian family move in across the street, something begins to gnaw at Clarice's contentment: a feeling that there may be more to life - and to her - than this. Dizzy with the sweltering heat and simmering emotions, Clarice begins to feel herself come alive to possibilities previously unimaginable.

Set in Iran prior to the Islamic revolution, Zoya Pirzad's award-winning novel is perfect for fans of Anne Tyler, crafting an intimate portrait of family life - its joys and its compromises - and how we find a happiness that endures.

Publisher: Oneworld Publications
ISBN: 9781851689675
Number of pages: 352
Weight: 318 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 28 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

"A note-perfect portrait...by a wonderful writer."

-- Frank Huyler, author of Right of Thirst

The sparked imagination for both characters and reader is beautiful, but it is truly the things Pirzad leaves unsaid that make this book so good."

* Austin Chronicle *

"A rising star of Iranian literature, Zoya Pirzad transcends the everyday with her luminous writing."

* Elle *

"A grand, panoramic family saga... Pirzad writes with wit and precision, deftly evoking the daily routines and rhythms of a city on the cusp of revolutionary changes."

* New Internationalist *

You may also be interested in...

Spring Snow
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
A Man Called Ove
Added to basket
After Dark
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Alone in Berlin
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
South of the Border, West of the Sun
Added to basket
Buddenbrooks
Added to basket
£11.99
Paperback
Pietr the Latvian
Added to basket
Death In Venice And Other Stories
Added to basket
The Plague
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Short Stories in Japanese
Added to basket
The Magic Mountain
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Sputnik Sweetheart
Added to basket
The Truth About the Harry Quebert Affair
Added to basket
The Heart Of A Dog
Added to basket
Look Who's Back
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.