The Crow Garden (Paperback)
  • The Crow Garden (Paperback)
zoom

The Crow Garden (Paperback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£9.99
Paperback 384 Pages
Published: 04/10/2018
  • In stock

Expected to be dispatched in 2-3 weeks

  • This item has been added to your basket

'A chilling atmosphere of skulls, séances, secrets and hysteria' The Times

Set a guard upon your soul . . .

When Nathaniel Kerner takes up his new position as a mad-doctor at Crakethorne Manor, the proprietor, more interested in phrenology and his growing collection of skulls than his patients' minds, hands over the care of his most interesting case.

Mrs Victoria Harleston's husband accuses her of hysteria and says he will pay any price to see her well. But she accuses him of something far more terrible . . .

Nathaniel becomes increasingly obsessed with Victoria and her condition: is she truly delusional or is she hiding secrets that should never be uncovered?

'A Gothic masterpiece' The Lady

Publisher: Quercus Publishing
ISBN: 9781848669888
Number of pages: 384
Weight: 260 g
Dimensions: 196 x 128 x 28 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

Excellent . . . she creates a chilling atmosphere of skulls, séances, secrets and hysteria - Antonia Senior, The Times

[An] enjoyable excursion . . . gripping - The Sunday Times

A Gothic masterpiece - The Lady

[A] deliciously atmospheric psychological thriller . . . will appeal to fans of Susan Hill and Wilkie Collins - BookRiot

A book which I know I will want to re-read time and time again . . . a brilliant example of historical fiction - The Bookish Bundle

An excellent, chilling, autumn read, all about the dangers of power, obsession, and guilt, this is sure to be another hit - Blue Book Balloon

Eerie and unsettling . . . Alison Littlewood has crafted a sublime blend of the psychological and the supernatural - Starburst

A great seasonal treat - Becky Lea, SciFiNow

A rare treat! I love the idea of novels about madness but it is rare that I find one so well written . . . a fantastic novel and highly recommended! - Life Has A Funny Way of Sneaking Up On You

Alison has been churning out intriguing and clever chilling stories that always manage to raise my heartbeat - Upcoming4.me on Alison Littlewood

There's an amazing sense of place and time in this novel, as Littlewood perfectly captures the literary style, attitudes, and class consciousness of Victorian England - Publishers Weekly on The Hidden People

Hypnotic and intelligent with buckets of atmosphere . . . Littlewood expertly weaves themes of misogyny and mythology into a psychological page-turner that feels both familiar and fresh - SFX

The atmosphere Alison Littlewood conjures up in The Hidden People is absorbing and there's a real sense of foreboding, you feel the fairies might show themselves at any moment. - Irish News

Alison Littlewood is one of the brightest stars in the horror genre at the moment . . . The Hidden People is impeccably written, quiet, evocative horror. It's yet another must buy from Littlewood - This is Horror

Littlewood's dark and gothic style had me mesmerised from the very first page . . . a deeply compelling, fascinating novel, written in a way that had me, the reader, mesmerised also. - Book Babe Review

A masterclass in confusion - Marie O’Regan, SciFiBulletin

For those who enjoy the growing genre of dark Victorian Gothic fiction, this will prove a welcome addition, wrapped about with fogs and spirits and dangerous beauty - The Idle Woman

The Crow Garden flows smoothly, mixing atmosphere and language with effective precision . . . by far Littlewood's best, and by the looks of it, she's only going to get better. - British Fantasy Society

An absorbing tale that plays adroitly with the concepts of reality and trust - CrimeReads

You may also be interested in...

American Pastoral
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
A Place of Greater Safety
Added to basket
Girl With a Pearl Earring
Added to basket
Beloved
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Restoration
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Paying Guests
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
The Beginning of Spring
Added to basket
Heresy
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Red Queen
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Leopard
Added to basket
Azincourt
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Lamentation
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
The Pale Horseman
Added to basket
Master and Commander
Added to basket
The Boleyn Inheritance
Added to basket
Tai-Pan
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback

“A perfect book for a dark and stormy night”

Newly qualified Nathaniel Kerner leaves his widowed mother behind in London to work in windswept Yorkshire. His father’s suicide seems to have made it hard for him to find work but the director of Crakethorne Asylum... More

Hardback edition
3 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 25

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: