A Lesson Before Dying - Serpent's Tail Classics (Paperback)
  • A Lesson Before Dying - Serpent's Tail Classics (Paperback)
zoom

A Lesson Before Dying - Serpent's Tail Classics (Paperback)

(author), (author of introduction)
£9.99
Paperback 272 Pages / Published: 04/06/2015
  • In stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
An Oprah Book Club selection Winner of the National Book Critics Circle Award for Fiction Nominated for a Pulitzer Prize In a small Cajun community in the late 1940s, a young black man named Jefferson witnesses a liquor store shootout in which three men are killed. The only survivor, he is convicted of murder and sentenced to death. Gaines explores the deep prejudice of the American South in the tradition of Harper Lee's To Kill A Mockingbird and Toni Morrison's Beloved. A Lesson Before Dying is a richly compassionate and deeply moving novel, the story of a young black man sentenced to death for a murder he did not commit, and a teacher who hopes to ease his burden before the execution.

Publisher: Profile Books Ltd
ISBN: 9781846687860
Number of pages: 272
Weight: 230 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 16 mm
Edition: Main


MEDIA REVIEWS
Gaines has created a powerful and loving portrait of a small, mainly cane-cutting community ... A transcendent and heartfelt novel of redemption * Guardian *
This is a fine and decent book that lives in the memory for its elegance and sadness ... like the best country songs, straight and true, unafraid of sentiment and written for the people it depicts, not simply about them * Independent *
A narrative of the deep pain of the south... Gaines writes from the blues and his novel has redemptive power * Morning Star *
Gaines has written a novel that is not only never maudlin, but approaches the spare beauty of a classic * Kirkus *
This majestic, moving novel is an instant classic, a book that will be read, discussed and taught beyond the rest of our lives. * Chicago Tribune *
A Lesson Before Dying reconfirms Ernest J. Gaines's position as an important American writer * Boston Globe *
Enormously moving... Gaines unerringly evokes the place and time about which he writes * Los Angeles Times *
A truly gripping read * Sunday Herald *

You may also be interested in...

Sweet Sweet Revenge Ltd.
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Such a Fun Age
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Girl, Woman, Other
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Beekeeper of Aleppo
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Klara and the Sun
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Grown Ups
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Priory of the Orange Tree
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Midnight Library
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Long Call
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£14.99   £10.99
Hardback
A Single Thread
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Hamnet
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Girl Who Reads on the Metro
Added to basket
Turn a Blind Eye
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
Agent Running in the Field
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Exciting Times
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.