Jamaica Inn - Virago Modern Classics (Paperback)
  • Jamaica Inn - Virago Modern Classics (Paperback)
zoom

Jamaica Inn - Virago Modern Classics (Paperback)

(author), (author of introduction)
6 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 320 Pages / Published: 06/03/2003
  • 10+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
After the death of her mother, Mary Yellan crosses the windswept Cornish moors to Jamaica Inn, the home of her Aunt Patience. There she finds Patience a changed woman, downtrodden by her domineering, vicious husband Joss Merlyn. The inn is a front for a lawless gang of criminals, and Mary is unwillingly dragged into their dangerous world of smuggling and murder. Before long she will be forced to cross her own moral line to save herself.

Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
ISBN: 9781844080397
Number of pages: 320
Weight: 250 g
Dimensions: 205 x 165 x 22 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Daphne du Maurier has no equal * Sunday Telegraph *
A true classic * Amazon.com *
Jamaica Inn is perhaps the most accomplished historical romance ever written * Good Book Guide *
Jamaica Inn is a first-rate page-turner * The Times *
A dark tale. A brilliant thriller * Daily Express *
A perfect fusion of gothic romance and a young woman's rite of passage in the vein of Twilight and Wuthering Heights * Independent *
A dark tale. A brilliant thriller * Daily Express *

You may also be interested in...

The Odyssey
Added to basket
£14.99
Hardback
Good Morning, Midnight
Added to basket
Dracula
Added to basket
£14.99
Hardback
The Plague
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
The Count of Monte Cristo
Added to basket
Rebecca
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Wuthering Heights
Added to basket
£14.99
Hardback
Oliver Twist
Added to basket
£14.99
Hardback
Rebecca
Added to basket
£14.99
Hardback
The Secret Garden
Added to basket
Frankenstein
Added to basket
£14.99
Hardback
Little Women
Added to basket
£14.99
Hardback
The Picture of Dorian Gray
Added to basket
Brave New World
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback

“I shouldn't compare it to Rebecca but...”

I was expecting to love this book; I loved Rebecca, it's set by the coast, it's dark and intense, it involves smuggling. But it fell short and I think the main reasons for this were the irritating... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 103

“Unputdownable”

I read this in two days. Loved it.

An original and relevant book to those a fan of Cornwall based literature (like Poledark or Demelza). As myself live in the South West- why not try reading something a little... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 73

“Surprisingly fresh”

I bought this having really enjoyed Rebecca. Although it was written over 80 years ago, it is still surprisingly fresh. The plotting is superb and will have you racing through the pages as you try to work out what... More

Paperback edition
5 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 30

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.