Cuckoo Summer (Paperback)
  • Cuckoo Summer (Paperback)
zoom

Cuckoo Summer (Paperback)

(author)
2 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£7.99
Paperback 256 Pages
Published: 07/07/2022
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Nominated for the Carnegie Medal for Writing

Summer 1940. As the cuckoo sings out across the Lake District, life is about to change for ever for local boy Tommy and his friend Sally, the mysterious evacuee girl who lives on the neighbouring farm. When they find a wounded Nazi airman in the woods, Sally persuades Tommy not to report it but to keep the German hidden. This starts a chain of events that leads to the uncovering of secrets about Sally’s past and a summer of adventure that neither child will ever forget.

Publisher: Andersen Press Ltd
ISBN: 9781839132094
Number of pages: 256
Weight: 207 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 16 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

"A ripping wartime adventure and a love letter to Lakeland’s farms and fells" - Melissa Harrison

"With a brilliant cast of characters, dialogue to die for and a tone reminiscent of Robert Westall at his finest, I was hooked from the very first page" - Phil Earle

"Beautifully written... A moving story about identity and finding your family for fans of "Carrie's War" and "Goodnight Mister Tom"" - The Bookseller

"an exciting and lively story... It is great fun" - Books for Keeps

"A lovely story about adventure and trust" - The School Librarian

You may also be interested in...

Murder Most Unladylike
Added to basket
Howl’s Moving Castle
Added to basket
Creepy Creations
Added to basket
The Last Bear
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Tom Gates 21: Five Star Stories
Added to basket
Lottie Brooks's Totally Disastrous School-Trip
Added to basket
Wrath of the Triple Goddess
Added to basket
Dog Man 11: Twenty Thousand Fleas Under the Sea (PB)
Added to basket
Impossible Creatures
Added to basket
Impossible Creatures
Added to basket
Diary Of A Wimpy Kid (Book 1)
Added to basket
Skandar and the Phantom Rider
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Percy Jackson and the Olympians: The Chalice of the Gods
Added to basket

“A sweet wartime novel”

CUCKOO SUMMER is a charming wartime novel about friendship, compassion and secrets. This is a refreshing take on the wartime novel – here the adventure is set in the Lake District where the war is present but in the... More

Paperback edition
6 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 3

“on a par with Valley of the Lost Secrets! Brilliant story.”

This is set in the Lake District during wartime. Tommy is a Lake District boy whose family own a small farm. His mother died and his father is missing in action, so he lives with his three aunts. His friend Sally... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: