Everyone in This Room Will Someday Be Dead (Hardback)
  • Everyone in This Room Will Someday Be Dead (Hardback)
zoom

Everyone in This Room Will Someday Be Dead (Hardback)

(author)
£14.99
Hardback 256 Pages / Published: 08/07/2021
  • We can order this from the publisher

Usually dispatched within 10 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Waterstones Says

A tender-hearted and hilarious debut all about the impending inevitability of death, Everyone in This Room Will Someday Be Dead centres on a morbid queer atheist taking the unlikely job of receptionist at a church therapy group.

Meet Gilda. She cannot stop thinking about death. Desperate for relief from her anxious mind and alienated from her repressive family, she responds to a flyer for free therapy at a local church and finds herself abruptly hired to replace the deceased receptionist Grace. It's not the most obvious job - she's queer and an atheist for starters - and so in between trying to learn mass, hiding her new maybe-girlfriend and conducting an amateur investigation into Grace's death, Gilda must avoid revealing the truth of her mortifying existence.

A blend of warmth, deadpan humour, and pitch-perfect observations about the human condition, Everyone in This Room Will Someday Be Dead is a crackling exploration of what it takes to stay afloat in a world where your expiration - and the expiration of those you love - is the only certainty.

Publisher: Atlantic Books
ISBN: 9781838953737
Number of pages: 256
Weight: 415 g
Dimensions: 225 x 147 x 25 mm
Edition: Main


MEDIA REVIEWS

'Introducing the bumbling, anxious, helplessly kindhearted heroine we all need right now. Gilda might be an accidental Catholic, a lapsed lesbian, and an inept receptionist, but she's awfully good at helping us reckon-hilariously, tenderly-with our impending deaths.' - Courtney Maum, author of I Am Having So Much Fun Here Without You

'As a queer woman whose brain can be a terrifying place, I devoured this novel about a panic-ridden lesbian who hides her sexuality to work at a Catholic Church. While the narrator is anxious beyond measure, the prose is self-assured - brisk and effortless, moving through time and space with ease. At its core, the novel is about the fragility of human life, kept fresh with an intriguing mystery and subtle moments of tenderness. Everyone In This Room Will Someday Be Dead is a dreary truth but a delightful read.' - Anna Dorn, author of VAGABLONDE

'Everyone in this book will touch your heart. Austin's writing is spare yet exciting, each page sparkles with keen observation about the fleeting nature of life, yes, but also our profound ability to make lasting impact on those around us. I already can't wait to read what she writes next.' - Steven Rowley, New York Times bestselling author of The Editor

'Anxious death-obsessed lesbians unite! I cackled and cringed in recognition while following the exploits of Gilda, who is plagued by intrusive thoughts about death and the absurdity of the human condition. Emily Austin is a unique and wry writer, and her debut novel manages to be both hilarious and profound, a winning combination.' - Celia Laskey, author of Under the Rainbow

'The perfect blend of macabre and funny' - Buzzfeed

'There's some strange magic at play here. A book about the anxiety of being someone else that possesses a genuine warmth and comfort? A book about death and depression that's laugh-out-loud funny? A book written in straightforward unadorned prose that nonetheless feels entirely distinctive? I don't know how Emily Austin does what she does, and honestly I don't care. I just want more.' - Sean Adams, author of The Heap

'Emily Austin's protagonist, Gilda - an atheist, animal-loving lesbian who has worried about death since childhood-spoke directly to the deepest, darkest parts of myself. Did I mention that she's also hilarious? This is not just a tender-hearted story, it swerves like a thriller, and I couldn't put it down.' - Sara Quin, band member of Tegan and Sara, co-author of New York Times bestseller High School

'Dark, edgy humor and starting to buzz' - Library Journal, Spring/Summer Bests

'Gilda, Emily Austin's anxious and endearing hero, is a dream. It's impossible not to root for her as she navigates love, religion, mental health and everything in between. Too often our heroes are bigmouths who take up outsized space in the world. Everyone in This Room Will Someday Be Dead redefines bravery....Turn to any page in this lovely debut and you'll meet a tsunami of joy' - Andrew David MacDonald, author of When We Were Vikings

'We don't deserve an author as insightful and empathetic as Emily Austin. Through the inner dialogue of Gilda, our painfully human heroine, Austin connects us with the best and worst parts of being a person while reminding us that even our darkest moments can lead to extraordinary revelations. I missed Gilda as soon as I finished the last page, and am already counting down to Austin's next book.' - Anne T. Donahue, author of Nobody Cares

'At once hilarious and tender, quirky and dark, Everyone in This Room Will Someday Be Dead is a hugely endearing and genuinely moving novel' - Ruth Gilligan, author of The Butchers

'A luminous novel, whose humour, wisdom and tenderness shine through on every page. Emily Austin writes with a perfectly-gauged lightness of touch, deftly balancing perceptive musings on life and death with scenes that make you laugh out loud. Everyone in This Room Will Someday Be Dead hits that sweet spot: a fun, page-turner of a novel that engages both heart and head. I was captivated by it.' - Sarah Haywood, New York Times bestselling author of The Cactus

'For fans of Phoebe Waller-Bridge and Halle Butler, this is a darkly funny, surprisingly tender, and weirdly charming coming-of-age novel about a young woman with so much anxiety she'd rather lie than risk hurting anyone's feelings. A comedic masterpiece of conflict-avoidance, I absolutely loved this book.' - Leigh Stein, author of Self Care

'Gilda is the anxious queer hero who I didn't know that I needed, a delightfully weird reminder that we will one day turn to dust and that yes, this is depressing, but it's also what makes life beautiful, why it's important to say what we mean, do what we want, love as best as our crooked hearts will allow us to while we still can. I will read whatever Austin puts in front of me until I'm six feet under.' - Jean Kyoung Frazier, author of Pizza Girl

'Everyone in This Room Will Someday Be Dead is a gentle book. This novel prompts the reader to sympathise with all those who are normally looked over or past. Emily Austin's narration is so fundamentally kind that you can feel the warmth coming off each page.' - Rowan Hisayo Buchanan, author of Starling Days

'Brilliant. I adored this book. Gilda is a beautiful soul - I felt at times that I was reading about myself. A honest, unflinching look into anxiety. It's also funny, sharp and touching. I can't wait to see people fall in love with it. Will be a HIT' - Ericka Waller, author of Dog Days

'Her characters are hilarious, relatable, exasperating, and endearing. For all readers of fiction.' - Library Journal

'Winner of this summer's unofficial Best Book Title competition, this grim yet funny debut novel from Emily Austin features the adventures of a morbidly anxious young woman who, for reasons too weird to explain, begins impersonating a recently deceased old lady. Recommended for fans of Mostly Dead Things and Goodbye, Vitamin.' - Goodreads, Summer Reading: The Hottest New Books of the Season

You may also be interested in...

Death and Croissants
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Klara and the Sun
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo
Added to basket
How to Kill Your Family
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Midnight Library
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Normal People
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Silverview
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Paper Palace
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Malibu Rising
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Island of Missing Trees
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Death and the Penguin
Added to basket
Sorrow and Bliss
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Still Life
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Lessons in Chemistry
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
Dan at Cribbs Causeway, Bristol.

“Meet Gilda.”

Meet Gilda. Death is always on her mind and she thinks about it constantly: how do people die? Why do people die? How will she die? Desperate for some sort of relief from her overactive, and quite frankly... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3

“A New Favourite!”

This book is a new all-time FAVOURITE.
Following Gilda's perspective throughout this novel was a delight. I fell in love with her. I LOVE HER.
Gilda's fixation on death is incorporated seamlessly into the... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2

“A gay atheist walks into a catholic church...”

A comedy of errors punctuated with brilliantly morbid humour, Gilda is a character so full of indecisiveness and anxiety she'd give Hamlet a run for his money! Every situation Gilda finds herself in is both... More

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.