The Long Journey Home (Paperback)
  • The Long Journey Home (Paperback)
zoom

The Long Journey Home (Paperback)

(author)
2 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 400 Pages / Published: 10/06/2021
  • In stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
A moving and powerful novel of love, secrets and redemption in a country torn apart by war. For readers of Kate Furnivall and Dinah Jefferies. It's 1941 and Kate is living in Rangoon, Burma, a world away from her traditional English upbringing. When she meets Edwin, a young teacher from London, she senses that he too is looking for a place to call home, and soon a friendship develops between them. As their bond grows, Kate begins to learn of the secrets in Edwin's past and the tragic events that brought them both to Burma. But war is coming and, when the Japanese forces invade, Kate and Edwin are forced to flee, along with thousands of others. They begin a perilous journey to India but soon become separated. As Kate continues on alone, she can't get this troubled young man out of her head. With the fallout of war all around them, in a place far from home, will Kate and Edwin survive their journey and find the new beginning they both seek? 'A sweeping historical fiction masterpiece' My Weekly 'Evocative and atmospheric. Blench captures the wild and perilous journeys made by so many at the arrival of the war' Wilbur Smith The Long Journey Home is a Wilbur Smith adventure writing prize winner. - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Readers are loving The Long Journey Home: 'Wow . . . The characters are beautifully alive, the locations so craftily described that I felt like I was there . . . a magnificent, well-researched novel.' Netgalley reviewer 'Written with compassion and thought . . . you really feel the emotions of the characters.' Netgalley reviewer 'The ending is delightful yet sad but at the same time life affirming. A soaring saga that will touch the reader and leave footprints on your heart.' Netgalley reviewer 'Well written with great detail . . . What a great writer Cecily Blench is.' Netgalley reviewer 'A real page turner from the very beginning . . . Cecily Blench is an excellent writer.' Netgalley reviewer 'Rich in emotion and description this book is just amazing . . . highly recommended.' Netgalley reviewer

Publisher: Bonnier Zaffre
ISBN: 9781838773816
Number of pages: 400
Weight: 315 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 24 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Evocative and atmospheric. Blench captures the wild and perilous journeys made by so many at the arrival of the war. * Wilbur Smith *
A sweeping historical fiction masterpiece * My Weekly *

You may also be interested in...

Wuthering Heights
Added to basket
£14.99
Hardback
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows
Added to basket
Frankenstein
Added to basket
£14.99
Hardback
Red Queen
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Lolita
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Dracula
Added to basket
£14.99
Hardback
Olive Kitteridge
Added to basket
Little Women
Added to basket
£14.99
Hardback
My Policeman
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Remains of the Day
Added to basket
The Woman in Black
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Picture of Dorian Gray
Added to basket
The Last Letter from Your Lover
Added to basket
Never Let Me Go
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Brave New World
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback

“Well researched historical novel!”

This is a well researched historical novel set in Burma during World War 2 during the Japanese invasion.
Kate is a strong female character who has come to Burma to escape her demons. When she meets Edwin, a work... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2

“absorbing”

The long journey home told showed us the strength and determination that Kate had to find her way through war torn Burma to India and safety. Her journey was written with compassion and thought the descriptions of the... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.