The Art of Death (Hardback)
  • The Art of Death (Hardback)
zoom

The Art of Death (Hardback)

(author)
£14.99 £12.99
Hardback 432 Pages / Published: 04/02/2021
  • Save £2.00
  • 10+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
AN INTENSELY CREEPY SERIAL KILLER THRILLER DEBUT, FOR FANS OF CHRIS CARTER, M. W. CRAVEN AND THE WHISPER MAN. 'Written with a clear grasp of social media, the story simply bristles with invention - though it is not for the faint hearted' - Daily Mail 'You couldn't ask for a more assured if startlingly graphic and gory debut' - Irish Independent 'Satisfyingly gruesome fare' - Financial Times Death is an art, and he is the master . . . Three glass cabinets appear in London's Trafalgar Square containing a gruesome art installation: the floating corpses of three homeless men. Shock turns to horror when it becomes clear that the bodies are real. The cabinets are traced to @nonymous - an underground artist shrouded in mystery who makes a chilling promise: MORE WILL FOLLOW. Eighteen years ago, Detective Inspector Grace Archer escaped a notorious serial killer. Now, she and her caustic DS, Harry Quinn, must hunt down another. As more bodies appear at London landmarks and murders are livestreamed on social media, their search for @nonymous becomes a desperate race against time. But what Archer doesn't know is that the killer is watching their every move - and he has his sights firmly set on her . . . He is creating a masterpiece. And she will be the star of his show. Praise for The Art of Death: 'I flew through it . . . tense, gripping and brilliantly inventive' SIMON LELIC 'Unsettling, fast-paced, suspenseful and gripping . . . Excellent' WILL DEAN 'A serial killer thriller with the darkest of hearts' FIONA CUMMINS 'A tense-as-hell high-body count page turner, but a rarer thing too - one that's also full of genuine warmth and humanity' WILLIAM SHAW

Publisher: Bonnier Zaffre
ISBN: 9781838773427
Number of pages: 432
Weight: 667 g
Dimensions: 240 x 162 x 38 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
I flew through it . . . Tense, gripping and brilliantly inventive * Simon Lelic *
This is Belfast-born Fennell's first thriller, and you couldn't ask for a more assured if startlingly graphic and gory debut * IRISH INDEPENDENT *
A tense-as-hell high-body count page turner, but a rarer thing too - one that's also full of genuine warmth and humanity * William Shaw *
Have just finished this hair-raisingly dark thriller . . . you won't be able to put it down * Araminta Hall *
A blend of Lynda La Plante and Thomas Harris * CRIME TIME *
A stunning start to what promises to be a fantastic new series. The Art of Death is layered, twisty and so deliciously dark. A hero for our age; DI Grace Archer is fierce and relentless, intuitive and driven, yet underneath the mask she wears, she's also surprisingly vulnerable and just a little bit damaged. I can't wait to see what she gets up to next * M. W. Craven, winner of the CWA Gold Dagger *
A serial killer thriller with the darkest of hearts, David Fennell more than earns his place at the crime fiction table with this superb exploration of a psychopath with the creepiest modus operandi I've read in a long time, and a flawed yet brilliant detective * Fiona Cummins *
A hugely compelling procedural thriller set in London. Unsettling, fast-paced, suspenseful and gripping. Loved the way the cityscape was rendered. Excellent * Will Dean *
A serial killer classic in the making, The Art of Death is neatly plotted, perfectly paced and brilliantly characterised with a clever concept that hooks you in and holds you tight, right up to the extremely satisfying final page * Susi Holliday *
Chilling, unsettling and wonderfully atmospheric, it grips from first page to last. I hope we'll be hearing much more from Fennell and his brilliant detective, Grace Archer * Brian McGilloway *
A gritty, dark thriller. Perfect for fans of Chris Carter * Olivia Kiernan *

You may also be interested in...

Freed
Added to basket
£8.99   £4.49
Paperback
Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Agent Running in the Field
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Sentinel
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Lockdown
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The President's Daughter
Added to basket
The Sentinel
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback
20th Victim
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Dark Remains
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback
Westwind
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Dinner Guest
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Family Upstairs
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Win
Added to basket
Win
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Fair Warning
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Still Life
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Goodbye Man
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback

“Great serial killer story”

I saw “The Art of Death” all over twitter and I couldn’t wait to read it. It was one of my most anticipated books of 2021 and I had really high expectations.

I loved the Sleeper series and I was curious what Davy... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 9

“Not for the faint hearted”

What a macabre debut this is! Certainly not for the faint hearted!
DI Grace Archer has quite a disturbing history herself and joins a new team, newly promoted. She immediately pairs up well with DS Harry Quinn and... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 9

“Began Really Well”

The Art of Death began really well, was interesting, used up-to-date references and contained an intriguing crime with chapters focusing on the murderer, investigating police and even victims.

Many different elements... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 8

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.