The Last Storm (Paperback)
  • The Last Storm (Paperback)
zoom

The Last Storm (Paperback)

(author)
4 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 352 Pages / Published: 05/07/2022
  • 5+ in stock

UK delivery within 5 days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
A gripping, terrifying road trip through the heat of the post-apocalyptic American desert from the author of Netflix's The Silence. This action-packed and thought-provoking eco-nightmare will appeal to fans of Benjamin Percy, Christopher Golden and Josh Malerman. With global warming out of control, large swathes of North America have been struck by famine and drought and are now known as the Desert. A young woman sets out across this dry, hostile landscape, gradually building an arcane apparatus she believes will bring rain to the parched earth. Jesse lives alone, far from civilization. Once, he too made rain, but he stopped when his abilities caused fatalities, bringing down not just rain but scorpions, strange snakes and spiders. When his daughter Ash inherited this tainted gift, Jesse did his best to stop her. His attempt went tragically wrong, and he believes himself responsible for her death. But now his estranged wife Karina brings news that Ash is still alive. And she's rainmaking again. Terrified of what she might bring down upon the desperate communities of the Desert, they set out to find her. But Jesse and Karina are not the only ones looking for Ash. As the storms she conjures become more violent and deadly, some follow her seeking hope. And one is hungry for revenge.

Publisher: Titan Books Ltd
ISBN: 9781803360423
Number of pages: 352
Dimensions: 198 x 130 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Praise for The Last Storm: "Grim, dusty Americana, family drama, near-future horror. So far, the best thing he's ever done." -Christopher Golden, author of Red Hands and The Road of Bones Praise for Eden: "Tim Lebbon gives us a near-future as terrifying as it is exhilarating, and-most frightening of all-irresistibly beautiful. Surrender to Eden." - Alma Katsu, author of The Deep and The Hunger "Instantly cinematic. A textured, thought-provoking thriller that will make you wonder what the world would be like if humans were to give it back. Eden is a story about family, humanity and the desire to re-experience the wonders we screwed up the first time around. Nobody is as smooth on the lettered keys as Tim Lebbon. Here, as with all his books, you are in the hands of a master." - Josh Malerman New York Times bestselling author of Bird Box and Malorie "Eden is both an eerie reimagining of our relationship with nature and a breathless page turning thriller. Tim Lebbon has created a vivid, wild world, filled with savagery and tenderness. It will haunt you." - Catriona Ward, author of the bestselling The Last House on Needless Street "A terrifying thrill ride into nature's well-deserved revenge on humans, Eden is a chilling warning and a fast, hard read... today's version of The Hot Zone." - Delilah S. Dawson, New York Times bestselling author of Star Wars: Phasma "Smart, prescient and gripping, Tim Lebbon's Eden takes us, and his team of adventurers, into the dark, pulsing heart of nature, and we all get far more than we bargained for. This near future eco-thriller puts Lebbon at the top of the tree. Read it. And then recycle." - Sarah Pinborough, Sunday Times #1 bestselling author of Behind Her Eyes "Lebbon excels at portraying the phantasmagorical proliferation of nature within Eden, which is truly red in tooth and claw, and escalates the tension towards a gripping climax." - The Guardian "A more personal form of apocalypse... The gradual build-up makes the slide into all-out nightmare all the more effective." - SFX Review "Lebbon's writing, as ever, is bold and pacey, his descriptions of Eden's terrain vivid and colourful. But he really excels in the book's numerous breathless action set pieces... Eden will thrill you and it will make you shiver... but it might also make you think... " - Starburst

You may also be interested in...

The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue
Added to basket
Fire and Blood
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Fairy Tale
Added to basket
£22.00   £17.99
Hardback
A Game of Thrones (Reissue)
Added to basket
Babel
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
The Silmarillion
Added to basket
The Poppy War
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Dracula
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
Demon in the Wood
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
The Fellowship of the Ring
Added to basket
Foul Lady Fortune
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
Kingdom of the Feared
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
The Book Eaters
Added to basket
£14.99
Hardback
Dune
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Book Eaters
Added to basket
£14.99
Hardback

“awesome stuff”

One of the things that I've come to enjoy about Tim Lebbon's work is that his books will feature strange horrors, dark mysteries, and warring alien creatures, but at the heart of everything it comes down to... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0
Emerald Reviews

“A story of the human soul and family strength. All the while packing the sting of a scorpion's strike!”

The Last Storm by Tim Lebbon is the first novel of his that I have read and it certainly won’t be the last. I am a huge fan of apocalyptic stories and this one is so likely to happen (the climate change part, maybe... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0
Blue Book Balloon

“Monsters!”

The Last Storm is a fine combination of the apocalyptic (not 'post', it's still proceeding), cosmic horror and survival. For me the impact was heightened by reading it as the UK cooked in record summer... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.