Battle Beyond the Dolestars - Battlestar Suburbia (Paperback)
  • Battle Beyond the Dolestars - Battlestar Suburbia (Paperback)
zoom

Battle Beyond the Dolestars - Battlestar Suburbia (Paperback)

(author)
2 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 320 Pages / Published: 19/09/2019
  • In stock

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Time for the Machine Republic to Kurl Up and Dye

It's a year since the Battlestar Suburbia broke free from Earth and the human rebellion is hiding out in the asteroid belt. Their leader, Admiral Janice, is assembling a fleet she hopes can topple robot rule - except on Wednesday afternoons when she can do you a half head of highlights for 30 quid.

Janice has given Darren, now the reluctant captain of the teenage starship Polari, a critical mission, to open up a path back to Earth by bombing the Martian Gap Services. But when it goes wrong and Darren and his crew are chased deep into the solar system, Janice has only one hope left, back on Earth.

Here, sentient breadmaker Pamasonic Teffal is resisting the human-machine war the best way she knows how: by running for office. Until a distress signal from Janice persuades her to get her turbo-charged alter ego Pam Van Damme out of mothballs, that is...

Can Pam save the solar system and rescue Kelly from the clutches of her nemesis, the crazed smartphone-turned-cyborg, Sonny Erikzon? Find out in another anarchic comic adventure from the inimitable Chris McCrudden.

What readers are saying:

"I loved this book. I legit laughed through the entire novel and I am excited that there will be a sequel." Terra C

"A brilliant mix of sci-fi, humor, and those hundreds of little things that make a memorable story. McCrudden is destined to become synonymous with great sci-fi humor." Christopher H

"A deliciously hilarious romp which skirts the realms of credibility but provides a wild ride which kept me very much entertained throughout. It's bonkers, it's mad and .... so exaggerated to almost be genius in its execution." Kath B

"Featuring a kindly bread-maker, ancient nana-cyborgs, a moving hairdressers and a chance to avert a nuclear bomb, it's both great fun and very clever." Ruth M

"Battlestar Suburbia highlights the absurdity of life, and the adaptability of individuals in unusual situations. McCrudden's novel will appeal to fans of Douglas Adams and Terry Pratchett, or anyone looking for an escape only loosely connected to reality." Stephenie S

"This was a trip! Some great one-lines & puns help create this future world where the machines have taken over. With evil smartphones, anti-hero humans, & a motherly bread maker pushed to the edge..." Caroline F

Editorial reviews:

"Chris McCrudden has created a new division of SF: Science Flotsam. His sprawling space epic is what you get if you cross Dr Who with an unhealthy fascination for household appliances. Forget alien invasion; in this explosive future you won't be able to trust your spin dryer." Christopher Fowler

"McCrudden's debut is festooned with cunning punnery, sharp turns of phrase, and jokes about emojis and the internet, making this very much a comic novel of our times." James Lovegrove, Financial Times

"an amusing and mind-bending read... different, a little geeky, and lots of fun." LoveReading

"An extraordinary technical achievement that does for SF what Terry Pratchett did for fantasy." David Quantick

Publisher: Prelude Books
ISBN: 9781788421058
Number of pages: 320
Dimensions: 198 x 129 mm

You may also be interested in...

Wakenhyrst
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Priory of the Orange Tree
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Outsider
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Sword of Destiny
Added to basket
The Handmaid's Tale
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Good Omens
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone
Added to basket
Dune
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Children of Ruin
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Frankissstein
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Last Wish
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban
Added to basket
False Value
Added to basket
£18.99
Hardback
The Secret Commonwealth: The Book of Dust Volume Two
Added to basket
Good Omens
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Blood of Elves
Added to basket

“Fun sci-fi”

Battle Beyond the Dolestars by Chris McCrudden is the second of the Battlestar Suburbia books is both as absurd and funny as the first one. Picking up a year after the first we see our three sets heroes resuming their... More

Paperback edition
1 similar book recommended
Helpful? Upvote 1

“Absolutely bonkers!”

This is has to be one of the silliest and most enjoyable sci-fi series ever. So many great ideas and a host of crazy characters. The ridiculous becomes sublime.

Paperback edition
2 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 1

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.