Peace (Paperback)
  • Peace (Paperback)
zoom

Peace (Paperback)

(author)
2 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 384 Pages / Published: 08/10/2020
  • 10+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

An act of inexplicable cruelty. A family destroyed.

Constable Paul Hirschhausen runs a one-cop station in the dry farming country south of the Flinders Ranges. He's still new in town but his community work - welfare checks and a light touch - is starting to pay off.

Now Christmas is here and, apart from a grass fire, two boys stealing a vehicle, and Brenda Flann entering the front bar of the pub without exiting her car, Hirsch's life has been peaceful. Until he's called to an incident on Kitchener Street, a strange and vicious attack that sickens the community. And when the Sydney police ask him to look in on a family living on a forgotten back road, it doesn't look like a season of goodwill at all...

A hugely atmospheric police procedural set in the dust of the Australian outback. Perfect for readers of Jane Harper, Chris Hammer and Dervla McTiernan.

Publisher: Profile Books Ltd
ISBN: 9781788165129
Number of pages: 384
Weight: 258 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 22 mm
Edition: Main


MEDIA REVIEWS

'An atmospheric and nail-biting novel by one of Australia's finest writers. He deserves to be far better known and far more widely read' - The Times

'Disher is brilliant at rural noir, capturing the stifling atmosphere of a small town where resentments simmer against the backdrop of an unforgiving landscape' - Sunday Times

'An uplifting book, an utterly compelling mystery with rare heart and humanity. If you enjoyed Jane Harper's The Lost Man, this novel is for you' - Dervla McTiernan

'Disher is the gold standard for rural noir' - Chris Hammer

'A scorchingly good novel' - Michael Robotham

'In this brilliant novel Disher takes his readers on a harrowing journey' - Jock Serong

'The stories are complex without being complicated, the writing pared down yet run with rich seams of character and place. The Hirsch novels are Disher's finest work' - Dominic Nolan, author of After Dark

'In prose baked as hard as the sun-scorched outback, Disher summons up the muggy oppressiveness of a small town with years of buried secrets, a veteran crime writer who knows how to expertly tie together the disparate threads of his narrative' - Herald

'Peter Temple and Garry Disher will be identified as the crime writers who redefined Australian crime fiction' - Sydney Morning Herald

'Peace is a very impressive piece of crime fiction. There has been a lot of fuss about Australian rural noir in recent years, but few, if any, do it better than Disher' - Canberra Weekly

'Peace is rural noir at its best' - Canberra Times

'Relevant, fresh and exciting. Peace is a satisfying complex mystery that reflects on family, corruption, big city violence seeping into the country, deep rooted racism, rural isolation and decline. The story is vivid, brutal and fast paced' - Crime Time

'The great thing about these books is their sheer believability and attention to detail. Hirsch himself is a fine creation. [An] immersive and addictive book' - Crime Fiction Lover

You may also be interested in...

Westwind
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Little Disasters
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Dinner Guest
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Rules for Perfect Murders
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Long Call
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
People of Abandoned Character
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Find Them Dead
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Darkest Evening
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£14.99   £10.99
Hardback
How the Dead Speak
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Silent Wife
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Postscript Murders
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Lamplighters
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
Walk the Wire
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Lockdown
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Still Life
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“Brilliant Aussie rural noir”

“Everyone lied, every day – especially to the police. A one-off, outright lie, from someone unused to lying, could often be identified and disproved. Constant and habitual lying was harder to recognise, let alone... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 5

“Brilliant Australian crime fiction - read it!”

This was another strong instalment in Garry Disher's Paul Hirschhausen series, set in a small rural South Australian town, Tiverton.
Disher captures the essence of small-town country Australia, both as a setting... More

Paperback edition
6 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 4

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.