The Plague Letters (Hardback)
  • The Plague Letters (Hardback)
zoom

The Plague Letters (Hardback)

(author)
£14.99
Hardback 416 Pages / Published: 01/04/2021
  • 10+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Waterstones Says

Both gloriously haunting and darkly humorous, The Plague Letters sets Rector Symon Patrick and a young woman called Penelope on the trail of a murderer and those performing sinister experiments on the dying in 1660s London.

WHO WOULD MURDER THE DYING...

London, 1665. Hidden within the growing pile of corpses in his churchyard, Rector Symon Patrick discovers a victim of the pestilence unlike any he has seen before: a young woman with a shorn head, covered in burns, and with pieces of twine delicately tied around each wrist and ankle.

Desperate to discover the culprit, Symon joins a society of eccentric medical men who have gathered to find a cure for the plague. Someone is performing terrible experiments upon the dying, hiding their bodies amongst the hundreds that fill the death carts.

Only Penelope - a new and mysterious addition to Symon's household - may have the skill to find the killer. Far more than what she appears, she is already on the hunt. But the dark presence that enters the houses of the sick will not stop, and has no mercy...

This hugely atmospheric and entertaining historical thriller will transport readers to the palaces and alleyways of seventeenth-century London. Perfect for fans of Laura Shepherd-Robinson, Andrew Taylor and C.J. Sansom.

Publisher: Profile Books Ltd
ISBN: 9781788164535
Number of pages: 416
Weight: 685 g
Dimensions: 240 x 162 x 37 mm
Edition: Main


MEDIA REVIEWS

'A riotous delve into the dark medical world of Restoration London. In her heroine Penelope and the hapless Symon, V.L.Valentine has given us an appealing and truly unique pairing' - S.G. MacLean, author of The Seeker

'An infectious read, packed with atmosphere and colourful characters' - Oscar de Muriel, author of The Strings of Murder

'Endearing, comic characters and crisp, spirited prose. The Plague Letters is a gripping whodunnit with a sinister twist, depicting the desperate scramble to find a cure and capture a killer' - Jennifer Ryan, author of The Chilbury Ladies' Choir

'V.L. Valentine drops us deep into a single deadly year, 1665, into a sickening, increasingly desperate London wonderfully evoked. A terrific read!' - Alix Nathan, author of The Warlow Experiment

'A rollicking, roistering tale with humour, horror and human decency at its dark heart. Such prescience, relevance and wonderful characters!' - Kate Griffin, author of Kitty Peck and the Music Hall Murders

'Brilliantly convincing and thrillingly infectious' - S.W. Perry, author of The Angel's Mark

'A gorgeous, darkly witty novel that transports the reader to the London of Charles II. Valentine takes the reader to squalid back alleys and serene country estates with equal aplomb. Those looking for a wonderfully entertaining escape from our own dark times need look no further' - Mariah Fredericks, author of A Death of No Importance

'Dark, haunting, and unexpectedly witty - a journey back to seventeenth-century London, where a serial killer is even more terrifying than the raging sickness. Suspenseful from start to finish' - Susan Elia MacNeal, author of Mr Churchill's Secretary

'A funny, fascinating and gripping adventure tale. It's as if V.L. Valentine holds up a magic mirror to reflect a lesson in time for us now' - Janice Hallett, author of The Appeal

'A glorious whodunnit. I loved the characters, and fell in love with its world' - Leonora Nattrass, author of Black Drop

You may also be interested in...

The Emperor's Exile (Eagles of the Empire 19)
Added to basket
Daughters of Night
Added to basket
Blood & Sugar
Added to basket
A Comedy of Terrors
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
The Glass House
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
The King's Evil
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Devil and the Dark Water
Added to basket
The Vanished Bride
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Once Upon a River
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Devil and the Dark Water
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
Hidden in Plain Sight
Added to basket
£20.00   £14.99
Hardback
The Burial Circle
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Ashes of London
Added to basket
Nothing Ventured
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Dissolution
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.99
Paperback
Lamentation
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Dan at Cribbs Causeway Store

“What will you uncover?”

London, 1665. Hidden within a pile of corpses, one victim of this pestilence stands out: a young woman with a shorn head, bound wrists and ankles, along with strange markings over her body...
Rector Symon Patrick... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 4

“Levels of satire and laugh out loud humour from cracking one liners lift this book above the mere historical whodunit”

Reading the Plague Letters, one can’t help but wonder if this is the author’s political satire upon the current pandemic. It isn’t, but there are parallels you can draw if you want to venture down that rabbit hole.... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

“Great whodunnit with a wonderful sense of time and place.”

London 1665, and the bubonic plague, which started slowly in the spring of that year, began to spread much more quickly during the hot summer months. Eventually, the city was closed by order of the King - no one... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.