The Rosary Garden (Paperback)
  • The Rosary Garden (Paperback)
zoom

The Rosary Garden (Paperback)

(author)
4 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 352 Pages / Published: 21/01/2021
  • We can order this from the publisher

Usually dispatched within 10 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
*** WINNER OF THE DUNDEE INTERNATIONAL BOOK PRIZE *** 'A mesmerising tale of secrets and lies' - VAL MCDERMID 'As good as it gets' - DENISE MINA 'An arresting new talent' - CHRIS BROOKMYRE ________________________________________ NOT EVERY CHILD IS A BLESSING... It was Ali who found the body of a murdered newborn baby, hidden in the garden of her convent school. In an Ireland riven by battles of religion and reproduction, the case becomes a media sensation, even as the church tries to suppress it. But this is not the first dead baby Ali has found. For Detectives Vincent Swan and Gina Considine, the pressure to discover the identity of the dead child is little help against a community with secrets to protect. Gina knows all too well how many of Ireland's girls are forced to make difficult decisions in terrible circumstances, silenced by shame. Is Ali one of those girls? Because what evidence there is, points to Ali herself... A beautiful and haunting mystery, perfect for readers of Val McDermid, Denise Mina, Tana French and Jo Spain. ________________________________________ 'A compulsive, page-turning crime novel' - DECLAN HUGHES 'A vivid thriller. Engrossing right up to its sombre resolution' - IRISH INDEPENDENT 'An unusual but absorbing twisting narrative... A superb debut' - IRISH TIMES

Publisher: Profile Books Ltd
ISBN: 9781788164115
Number of pages: 352
Weight: 247 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 21 mm
Edition: Main


MEDIA REVIEWS
A mesmerising tale of secrets and lies rising from the past to strangle the present -- Val McDermid
An unusual but absorbingly twisting narrative is hugely enhanced by White's creation of Detective Swan, a complex man whose own frustrated paternal instincts ensure that a highly politicised case becomes very personal indeed. A superb debut * Irish Times *
A vivid thriller. Engrossing right up to its sombre resolution ... an arresting debut * Irish Independent *
As good as it gets: a debut shot through with the real, horrifying cruelty of true crime and a heart-race ending -- Denise Mina
A crime story with real purpose and conviction, hopefully the first of many from an arresting new talent -- Christopher Brookmyre, author of Want You Gone
Like A Famished Heart, the first book in this excellent series, this novel is really a piece of quality literary fiction -- Rachel Sargeant, author of The Perfect Neighbours
A moving, intelligent and courageous book - both a family story and a genuine thriller -- A.L. Kennedy, author of Day
A compulsive, page-turning crime novel, a haunting slab of Irish family gothic and a moving study of a young woman coming of age in a society deeply unsympathetic to women. Nicola White writes beautifully, with wit, verve, a gift for scene-setting and a compassionate eye for the foibles of her characters -- Declan Hughes, author of The Colour of Blood
Nicola White is a stupendous talent -- Kate Simants, author of Lock Me In
Dazzling, exceptional -- Brian Cox, Dundee International Book Prize judge

You may also be interested in...

Little Disasters
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£14.99   £10.99
Hardback
Hidden in Plain Sight
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Song for the Dark Times
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Cry Baby
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The President's Daughter
Added to basket
Still Life
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Slow Fire Burning
Added to basket
£20.00   £17.99
Hardback
Find Them Dead
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Dinner Guest
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Goodbye Man
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Freed
Added to basket
£8.99   £4.49
Paperback
Lockdown
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Blunt Force
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Sentinel
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Guest List
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“The Rosary Garden by Nicola White”

I chose to read and review a free ARC of The Rosary Garden. My grateful thanks to Viper Books for sending me an early copy of the book.

Nicola White first came to my attention when the first book in her Vincent Swan... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3

“Dark and intelligent”

Set against the backdrop of public debate about women’s control of their sexuality and fertility in 1980’s Ireland, a teenager finds the body of a baby in the garden of her Dublin convent school. For Ali, the... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2

“A Gruesome Tale”

Ali found the body of a murdered baby hidden in the garden of her con dog t school. In an Ireland riven with battles of religion and reproduction, the case becomes a media sensation. But this is not the first baby Ali... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.