The Secret Detectives - The Secret Detectives Mysteries (Paperback)
  • The Secret Detectives - The Secret Detectives Mysteries (Paperback)
zoom

The Secret Detectives - The Secret Detectives Mysteries (Paperback)

(author)
£7.99 £6.99
Paperback 336 Pages / Published: 03/06/2021
  • Save £1.00
  • 10+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Waterstones Says

A startlingly accomplished children’s debut from Ella Risbridger, The Secret Detectives finds the freshly orphaned Isobel attempting to solve a heinous crime aboard the SS Mariana in a pitch perfect homage to Golden Age crime writing and children's classic The Secret Garden.

When Isobel Petty is orphaned, she finds herself being taken away from her home in India and sent to live with a distant uncle in England. On board the S.S. Mariana, she witnesses a shocking act - somebody being thrown overboard in the middle in the night. But when the ship's captain insists that nobody is missing, Isobel and her two new reluctant friends must solve two mysteries - the identities of both the murderer and the victim - before they reach England and the culprit has the chance to escape.

Inspired by The Secret Garden and the golden age of crime writing, The Secret Detectives is a gripping, beautifully historical mystery, from an incredible new voice in children's fiction - perfect for fans of Robin Stevens and Katherine Rundell.

Publisher: Nosy Crow Ltd
ISBN: 9781788006002
Number of pages: 336
Weight: 290 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 24 mm

You may also be interested in...

The Bell Jar
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Christmasaurus and the Naughty List
Added to basket
Afterlove
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Hawthorne Legacy
Added to basket
The Danger Gang
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Supertato Night of the Living Veg
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
There's a Unicorn in Your Book
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
It's Behind You
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
One Of Us Is Lying
Added to basket
As Good As Dead
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Good Girl's Guide to Murder
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Big Shot (Book 16)
Added to basket
Girl in Pieces
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Monsters of Rookhaven
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Cinderella Is Dead
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Bluey: Goodnight Fruit Bat
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
Lizzie | @littlehux

“A twisty mystery, a brilliant autistic protagonist, and a reckoning with colonialism”

This is hands down one of my favourite books of the year for several reasons - a great twisty mystery, a brilliant cast of characters, especially Isobel, and the way this book reckons with the colonialism of classic... More

Paperback edition
5 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 4
Lucy-Bookworm

“A great murder mystery for 8-12 yr olds”

Set aboard a ship travelling from colonial India to the UK, The Secret Detectives centres on three children from very different backgrounds who become friends as they join together to solve a murder (witnessed by two... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3

“A Thoroughly Brilliant Book”

This is magnificent. I raced through this is twenty-four hours and can't stop giddily recommending it to everyone I come into contact with.

The year is 1892, Isobel Petty is recently orphaned and being taken... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.