The Saboteur of Auschwitz: The Inspiring True Story of a British Soldier Held Prisoner in Auschwitz (Paperback)
  • The Saboteur of Auschwitz: The Inspiring True Story of a British Soldier Held Prisoner in Auschwitz (Paperback)
zoom

The Saboteur of Auschwitz: The Inspiring True Story of a British Soldier Held Prisoner in Auschwitz (Paperback)

(author)
£8.99
Paperback 288 Pages
Published: 11/07/2019
  • In stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

For fans of The Tattooist of Auschwitz, The Librarian of Auschwitz and The Choice, this is the incredible true story of a British soldier POW.

In 1942, young British soldier Arthur Dodd was taken prisoner by the German Army and transported to Oswiecim in Polish Upper Silesia. The Germans gave it another name, now synonymous with mankind’s darkest hours. They called it Auschwitz.

Forced to do hard labour, starved and savagely beaten, Arthur thought his life would end in Auschwitz. Determined to go down fighting, he sabotaged Nazi industrial work, risked his life to alleviate the suffering of the Jewish prisoners and aided a partisan group planning a mass break-out.

This shocking true story sheds new light on the operations at the camp, exposes a hierarchy of prisoner treatment by the SS and presents the largely unknown story of the military POWs held there.

Publisher: Octopus Publishing Group
ISBN: 9781787833296
Number of pages: 288
Dimensions: 198 x 129 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'compelling' - The Guardian

'An extraordinary book.' - Military Illustrated

'A human witness to inhumanity: Arthur Dodd’s account is another important piece of evidence.' - Legion, the Royal British Legion magazine

'Colin Rushton’s masterly account… is a harrowing addition to public knowledge of the Holocaust.' - Soldier magazine

'It is a riveting story and it is true.' - Barnes & Noble

'If we do not remember the past, we will repeat it. Truly an extraordinary book.' - Defence Focus, the House Journal of the Ministry of Defence

'a pertinent historical account' - Jewish Chronicle

'Simple sentences add a terrible innocence in keeping with Arthur’s ordinariness, struggling against the unimaginably extraordinary. History will be grateful that Arthur Dodd’s story was told.' - Scottish Legion News

You may also be interested in...

Chums
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Plot
Added to basket
£25.00   £19.99
Hardback
Politics On the Edge
Added to basket
£10.99   £8.99
Paperback
Charles III
Added to basket
£22.00   £18.99
Hardback
Napoleon the Great
Added to basket
Politics On the Edge
Added to basket
£22.00   £18.99
Hardback
American Prometheus
Added to basket
£12.99   £10.99
Paperback
Johnson at 10
Added to basket
£12.99   £10.99
Paperback
How to Win an Information War
Added to basket
£20.00   £17.99
Hardback
Keir Starmer
Added to basket
£25.00   £19.99
Hardback
Masters of the Air
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Lawrence of Arabia
Added to basket
Ten Years To Save The West
Added to basket
Killing Thatcher
Added to basket
£10.99   £9.49
Paperback
The Complete MAUS
Added to basket
£16.99
Paperback
The Hong Kong Diaries
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Paperback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: