Cathedral: a novel (Hardback)
  • Cathedral: a novel (Hardback)
zoom

Cathedral: a novel (Hardback)

(author)
4 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£16.99
Hardback 624 Pages
Published: 21/01/2021
  • In stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

Sophisticated and beautifully wrought, Hopkins’s epic account of Hagenburg Cathedral and the lives that are inextricably bound up in its construction and everyday existence is a tour de force of spellbinding prose and storytelling craft. 

Ambitious, immersive, a remarkable feat of imagination, Cathedral tells a sweeping story about obsession, mysticism, art, and earthly desire. It deftly combines historical fiction, the literary novel of ideas, and a tale of adventure and intrigue.

At the center of this story is the Cathedral. Its design and construction over decades in the town of Hagenburg unites a vast array of unforgettable characters whose fortunes are inseparable from the shifting political factions and economic interests vying for supremacy.

Around this narrative center, Ben Hopkins has constructed his own monumental edifice, a novel that is rich with the vicissitudes of mercantilism, politics, religion, and human enterprise.

Fans of authors like Umberto Eco, Elif Shafak, Hilary Mantel, and Jose Saramago, and readers of first-rate historical fiction will delight at the atmosphere, the beautiful prose, and the vivid characters of Ben Hopkins’s Cathedral.

Publisher: Europa Editions (UK) Ltd
ISBN: 9781787702516
Number of pages: 624
Dimensions: 210 x 135 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

“One of the best historical novels I’ve read in a long time. Cathedral is a triumph.” - Dan Jones (historian, TV presenter, author of Powers and Thrones)

You may also be interested in...

American Pastoral
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Heresy
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Captain Corelli's Mandolin
Added to basket
Life and Fate
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
Enigma
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Master and Commander
Added to basket
The Leopard
Added to basket
The Name of the Rose
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Tai-Pan
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
Fatherland
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Lamentation
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Nights at the Circus
Added to basket
Girl With a Pearl Earring
Added to basket
Pompeii
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Dissolution
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Restoration
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback

“History, politics, religion, high tension and romance - this book has it all... A perfect length to get your teeth into and close out the world for a while!”

Just as I loved the Hilary Mantel books for the detail and the depth of character, I am loving this. It's a period I know nothing about and I have spent a lot of time picking up references and spinning off to do... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 12

“A medieval story of the building of a great cathedral”

This is not the first novel telling a great story and using the construction of a cathedral as a central point. Ken Follett in his book, "The pillars of the Earth" brought his readers into England of the... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 11

“Cathedral by by Ben Hopkins”

It was a struggle to finish this book. The skipping between years was confusing and unnecessary. Not a good read.

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 5

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: