Brightfall (Paperback)
  • Brightfall (Paperback)
zoom

Brightfall (Paperback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 320 Pages / Published: 05/03/2020
  • In stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

'Immensely satisfying' Kate Elliott, author of King's Dragon

Someone is murdering the Merry Men . . .

It's been a mostly quiet life since Robin Hood put aside his pregnant wife Marian, turned his back on his Merry Men and his former life and retreated to a monastery to repent his sins . . . although no one knows what was so heinous he would leave behind Sherwood Forest and those he loved most.

But when friends from their outlaw days start dying, Father Tuck, now the Abbott of St Mary's, suspects a curse and begs Marian to use her magic to break it. A grieving Marian must bargain for protection for her children before she sets out with a soldier who's lost his faith, a trickster Fey lord, and a sullen Robin Hood, angry at being drawn back into the real world.

It's not long before Marian finds herself enmeshed in a maze of secrets and betrayals, tangled relationships and a vicious struggle for the Fey throne.

And if she can't find and stop the spell-caster, no protection in Sherwood Forest will be enough to save her children.

A wonderful re-imagining of Robin Hood and Maid Marian, perfect for fans of Katherine Arden, Naomi Novik and Christina Henry.

'Beautiful inside and out, gorgeously written and filled with bittersweet magic. A lush, immersive read, perfect for readers of Juliet Marillier' Stephanie Burgis, author of Masks and Shadows

Publisher: Quercus Publishing
ISBN: 9781787479227
Number of pages: 320
Weight: 220 g
Dimensions: 196 x 128 x 28 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Brightfall is beautiful inside and out, gorgeously written and filled with bittersweet magic. A lush, immersive read, perfect for readers of Juliet Marillier. I loved it * Stephanie Burgis, author of Snowspelled and Masks and Shadows *
An immensely satisfying read with its unexpected and unique twist on the legend of Sherwood Forest, Robin and his men, and the brave, determined, resilient Marian * Kate Elliott, author of King's Dragon *
[A] brave retelling * Daily Mail *
Boldly envisioned and beautifully told, Brightfall will change the Robin and Marian mythos forever * Sebastien de Castell, author of the Greatcoats quartet *
Putting a contemporary twist on a centuries old myth, Brightfall breathes new life into the tale of Robin Hood - bringing Marian to the fore and plunging her into a mystery that threatens the lives of all she loves * The Bookbag *
A genuinely new take on the Robin Hood tales . . . A treat for those who like their myths with extra magic * The Times *
This is a solid, engaging story . . . I enjoyed it a lot * Liz Bourke, Tor.com *
Brightfall is like a traditional ballad; sad and sweet, full of romance and longing and murder, with a dragon at its heart. I loved it. It will go on my keeper shelf * Patrice Sarath, Author of The Sisters Mederos and Fog Season *
The tale of Robin Hood has been remixed many times, but Jaime Lee Moyer's take on the old outlaw is one of the most intriguing so far * Starburst *
I loved spending time in this world with these characters * Ruby Hosh *
Different and well written with interesting characters, magic and mystery * Storgy *
A strong character study of a post-Sherwood Marian, with a good set of characters around her that richly fill her magical forest * Nerds of a Feather, Flock Together *
Twists upon twists upon twists . . . Highly recommended * Reader's Retreat *
The plot is fast paced, it keeps you hooked and entertained till the last page . . . Highly recommended * Annarellix *
An immensely fun and entertaining read * Nicki J Markus *
I adored this . . . Marian is a heroine I will treasure, and I feel like every time I read this, it will take me back to that wonderful feeling. It's unmissable. Five out of five cats, obviously. * A Cat, A Book, and A Cup of Tea *
If you are someone who believes no story is complete without at least one wise and scaly dragon, then this is the book for you * Historical Novel Society *
Full of magic * Always Trust in Books *
I fell in love with this book * Scrapping & Playing *
A vivid re-imagining of the Robin Hood legend * Choice *
Beautifully done with an enjoyable plot and relatable characters * SF Crowsnest *
Full of mystery and magic, this revisionist take on Robin Hood is sure to please fans of the original legends * Publishers Weekly *

You may also be interested in...

The House in the Cerulean Sea
Added to basket
Alice
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue
Added to basket
£17.99   £15.99
Hardback
Mexican Gothic
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Threadneedle
Added to basket
£14.99
Hardback
House of Earth and Blood
Added to basket
Tales from the Cafe
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone
Added to basket
A Court of Silver Flames
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
The Handmaid's Tale
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.99
Paperback
Solo Leveling, Vol. 1 (manga)
Added to basket
Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets
Added to basket
A Darker Shade of Magic
Added to basket
Dragon Ball Super, Vol. 1
Added to basket
The Name of the Wind
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.99
Paperback
Blue Book Balloon

“New twist on an old legend”

I'm grateful to the publisher for an advance reading copy of Brightfall to consider for review.

Reimaginings of classic themes, subjects and even stories are definitely a Thing right now, especially new... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 18

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.