The Switch (Paperback)
  • The Switch (Paperback)
zoom

The Switch (Paperback)

(author)
£9.99
Paperback 368 Pages
Published: 21/01/2021
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

A pensioner and her granddaughter swap places for eight weeks in O’Leary’s enchanting and hilarious follow-up to the bestselling The Flatshare.

Eileen is sick of being 79.
Leena's tired of life in her twenties.
Maybe it's time they swapped places...

When overachiever Leena Cotton is ordered to take a two-month sabbatical after blowing a big presentation at work, she escapes to her grandmother Eileen's house for some overdue rest. Eileen is newly single and about to turn eighty. She'd like a second chance at love, but her tiny Yorkshire village doesn't offer many eligible gentlemen.

Once Leena learns of Eileen's romantic predicament, she proposes a solution: a two-month swap. Eileen can live in London and look for love. Meanwhile Leena will look after everything in rural Yorkshire. But with gossiping neighbours and difficult family dynamics to navigate up north, and trendy London flatmates and online dating to contend with in the city, stepping into one another's shoes proves more difficult than either of them expected.

Leena learns that a long-distance relationship isn't as romantic as she hoped it would be, and then there is the annoyingly perfect - and distractingly handsome - school teacher, who keeps showing up to outdo her efforts to impress the local villagers. Back in London, Eileen is a huge hit with her new neighbours, but is her perfect match nearer home than she first thought?

Publisher: Quercus Publishing
ISBN: 9781787475021
Number of pages: 368
Weight: 255 g
Dimensions: 196 x 128 x 28 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

An utterly gorgeous, beautiful book, full of feeling ... a heart-warming reminder about the importance of always keeping our hearts (and minds) open. - Lindsey Kelk

O'Leary does it again! The Switch is a warm, funny and feisty tale of generational location swapping that will have you laughing and tearing up in equal measure. Populated by a cast of characters you'll wish you knew in real life. It's an absolute joy from beginning to end - MIKE GAYLE, author of Half a World Away

Utterly charming and uplifting, The Switch is bursting with love and warmth and humour. Another wonderful book from Beth O'Leary - LOUISE O'NEILL, author of AFTER THE SILENCE

This delicious slice of feelgood fiction is a real tonic - Sunday Mirror

This sparky, upbeat romcom balances riffs on the generation gap with heavier topics including grief and infidelity - Mail on Sunday

You'll find yourself rooting for the main characters, especially Eileen, the real star of this cheerful novel. A perfect tonic for anxious times - The People

A sparkling romantic read with characters that leap off the page. It's another triumph for this talented writer - Woman & Home

ingenious plot - Prima

O'Leary's funny, heartwarming novel about finding your true self in unexpected places will bring a tear to your eye and a smile to your face - Daily Mail

a lovely comedy with a special message - Sunday Post Dundee

We laughed, we cried and we loved it! - Fabulous Magazine

Utterly charming, this uplifting book is guaranteed to be another outstanding success - Hot Brands, Cool Places

The heart-warming story we all need right now - Bella

blissful escapism from our current isolated reality - Daily Mail

Fun, heart-warming and brimming with hope. Eileen and her zest for life will inspire you long after the last page - heat

A charming, uplifting read - Daily Mirror

Emotionally absorbing, witty and bursting with warmth - a treat for fans of Marian Keyes and Jill Mansell - Daily Express

This story has everything you want to lift your spirits: laughs, romance and lovely characters you connect with emotionally - Good Housekeeping

A lovely, heart-warming read - Best

I'm not going to beat around the bush here, I adored The Switch - Daily Record

Author of The Flatshare, O'Leary brings us another read that feels like a warm hug. Another triumph of a novel - Woman's Weekly

A warm, witty, weepy read - Female First

Each novel is like if Richard Curtis and Nora Ephron made a story baby - Zoella Book Club

A cosy, witty novel that will make you laugh, cry and ultimately feel inspired to live in the now - Living North

An uplifting read filled with warming laugh-out-loud moments and charming characters - The Luxe

You may also be interested in...

The Last Devil to Die
Added to basket
£22.00   £16.99
Hardback
Prophet Song
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
Small Things Like These
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Satsuma Complex
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
In The Blink of An Eye
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Babel
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
We Solve Murders
Added to basket
£22.00   £16.99
Hardback
The Cloisters
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Demon Copperhead
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Really Good, Actually
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
In Ascension
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Bride
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Days at the Morisaki Bookshop
Added to basket
£10.99   £9.49
Paperback
I Will Find You
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback

“You have been Eileened !!!”

Eileen is fed up with no proper love prospects in her rural part of the country and her granddaughter Lena is given two months sabbatical to recover from grief and exhaustion. They come up with the idea of switching... More

Hardback edition
1 similar book recommended
Helpful? Upvote 84

“Brilliant, brilliant, brilliant”

After a stressful year grieving her sister, Leena is forced to take a 2 month holiday from work, while her grandmother Eileen has decided it’s time to look for love. To get away from it all and for her grandmother to... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 57
Penelope Bullock at Lancaster

“Uplifting and inspirational”

An uplifting and inspirational novel about love, grief, friendship and community. Packed full of wonderful characters who make you laugh, cry and cheer along. Dual viewpoint narratives often get on my nerves as I... More

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: