• Sign In / Register
  • Help
  • Basket0
Shadow Man: An explosive serial killer thriller perfect for readers of Lee Child (Paperback)
  • Shadow Man: An explosive serial killer thriller perfect for readers of Lee Child (Paperback)
zoom

Shadow Man: An explosive serial killer thriller perfect for readers of Lee Child (Paperback)

(author)
6 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£12.99
Paperback 368 Pages / Published: 04/01/2018
  • In stock online

Usually despatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

An explosive serial killer thriller perfect for readers of Lee Child, Karin Slaughter and Michael Connelly.

'Wonderfully imagined and wonderfully written, patient but propulsive, serious but suspenseful, grown-up but gripping, Shadow Man is everything a great thriller should be.' Lee Child

Southern California, 1986. Detective Ben Wade has returned to his hometown in search of a quieter life and to try to save his marriage. Suddenly the community, with its peaceful streets and neighbourly concerns, finds itself at the mercy of a serial killer who slips through windows and screen doors at night, shattering illusions of safety.

As Ben and forensic specialist Natasha Betencourt struggle to stay one step ahead of the killer - and deal with painful episodes in the past - Ben's own world is rocked again by violence. He must decide how far he is willing to go, and Natasha how much she is willing to risk, to rescue the town from a psychotic murderer and a long-buried secret.

With eerie, chilling prose, Alan Drew brings us into the treacherous underbelly of a suburban California town in this brilliant novel of suspense; the story of a man, and a community, confronted with the heart of human darkness.

'Wonderfully imagined and wonderfully written, patient but propulsive, serious but suspenseful, grown-up but gripping, Shadow Man is everything a great thriller should be.' - Lee Child

'Excellent, atmospheric . . . [a] superb police procedural . . . [Ben Wade] is but one of many sharply etched characters who help make Shadow Man a stellar achievement, a book that unspools like a dark-toned movie in the reader's mind.' - The Wall Street Journal

Publisher: Atlantic Books
ISBN: 9781786493316
Number of pages: 368
Weight: 477 g
Dimensions: 234 x 153 x 26 mm
Edition: Main


MEDIA REVIEWS
Wonderfully imagined and wonderfully written, patient but propulsive, serious but suspenseful, grown-up but gripping, Shadow Man is everything a great thriller should be. * Lee Child *
Shadow Man revises the old detective story and turns it in several fascinating directions. Alan Drew writes with precision, subtlety, and a streak of suspense that does not often color the literary novel. * Colum McCann *
[Hero Detective Ben Wade investigates with] a clarity and wisdom reminiscent of Michael Connelly's Harry Bosch - and there is no higher praise. * Daily Mail *
Shadow Man is smart, chilling, and impossible to put down, an accomplished thriller by a writer to watch. Alan Drew is a rising star, blending suspense and humanity with consummate style. -- William Landay * Author of Defending Jacob *
Part murder mystery, part family drama, Alan Drew's Shadow Man has everything I like in a novel: grit, heart, and nail-biting suspense. It's the sort of magically absorbing novel that keeps you turning the pages and checking the locks on the door. -- Lauren Grodstein * author of A Friend of the Family *
Excellent, atmospheric . . . [a] superb police procedural . . . [Ben Wade] is but one of many sharply etched characters who help make Shadow Man a stellar achievement, a book that unspools like a dark-toned movie in the reader's mind. * The Wall Street Journal *
In Alan Drew's electric new novel, Southern California in the 1980s is so palpable it is almost a character of its own, lucid and relevant. His main character, Detective Ben Wade, is an outsize but knowable force, up there with Marlowe and Jake Gittes. Shadow Man is an enrapturing read from its start to its unpredictable, enthralling finish. -- Daniel Torday * Author of The Last Flight of Poxl West *
Always thrilling and often terrifying, Shadow Man is a descendent of Chandler's The Big Sleep. Underlying the grisly dangers of Drew's novel is the forceful honesty of all good California noir, the necessary and clear-eyed exploration of the innate human truths that should and do scare us. * Claire Vaye Watkins *
A fine character-driven novel that puts in more effort than your usual serial killer yarn * Sunday Sport *

You may also be interested in...

The Thirst
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Dead If You Don't
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
The Silent Companions
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
He Said/She Said
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Into the Water
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Mitford Murders
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Dry
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Vengeance in Venice
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Girl Before
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Whistle in the Dark
Added to basket
£12.99
Hardback
Insidious Intent
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Outsider
Added to basket
£20.00   £14.99
Hardback
Haunted
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Word Is Murder
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
If We Were Villains
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback

Reviews

View all

“gripping”

What a book!

I totally agree with other people about this book being chilling, gripping and something you won't put down until it's finished. You will just want to keep reading and not stop until you find... More

Paperback edition
25th January 2018
Helpful? Upvote 9

“Loved every minute reading this ”

I was drawn to this book because it was marketed as a thriller. There was a quote on the front by Lee Child that said "Shadow Man is everything a thriller should be."

I've only recently been reading... More

Paperback edition
31st January 2018
Helpful? Upvote 6

“Excellent thriller!”

"Shadow Man" by Alan Drew is a suspenseful and entertaining thriller that I really enjoyed reading from start to finish.
Although not the sadistic, psychotic serial killer book some maybe expecting but still... More

Hardback edition
1st January 2018
Helpful? Upvote 3

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.