The Pharmacist's Wife (Paperback)
  • The Pharmacist's Wife (Paperback)
zoom

The Pharmacist's Wife (Paperback)

(author)
£12.99
Paperback 400 Pages / Published: 05/04/2018
  • In stock online

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

Love. Desire. Vengeance. A deadly alchemy.

When Rebecca Palmer's new husband opens a pharmacy in Victorian Edinburgh, she expects to live the life of a well-heeled gentlewoman. But her ideal turns to ashes when she discovers her husband is not what he seems. As Rebecca struggles to maintain her dignity in the face of his infidelity and strange sexual desires, Alexander tries to pacify her so-called hysteria with a magical new chemical creation. A wonder-drug he calls heroin.

Rebecca's journey into addiction takes her further into her past, and her first, lost love, while Alexander looks on, curiously observing his wife's descent. Meanwhile, Alexander's desire to profit from his invention leads him down a dangerous path that blurs science, passion, and death. He soon discovers that even the most promising experiments can have unforeseen and deadly consequences...

Reminiscent of the works of Sarah Waters, this is a brilliantly observed piece of Victoriana which deals with the disempowerment of women, addiction, desire, sexual obsession and vengeance.

Publisher: Atlantic Books
ISBN: 9781786492715
Number of pages: 400
Weight: 460 g
Dimensions: 210 x 150 x 30 mm
Edition: Main


MEDIA REVIEWS
With shades of Sarah Waters, independence and vengeance make for a winning tale * Stylist *
This chilling atmospheric novel will appeal to fans of The Miniaturist and The Essex Serpent. * RED Online *
A fascinating, darkly powerful novel with biting attitude... Raw, elemental and disturbing, The Pharmacist's Wife is an entirely captivating, enthralling read - highly recommended. * LoveReading *
A truly addictive, deeply atmospheric, sensual yarn... similar to the works of Sarah Waters and Michel Faber, it makes for a compelling, irresistible, utterly delicious read. * Goodreads *
A captivating book.... It is a story that is both whimsical and disturbing -- Review for THE LOOKING GLASS HOUSE * Lady *
Tait's engaging novel... is sensuous and lyrical -- Review for THE LOOKING GLASS HOUSE * Sunday Telegraph *
Moving and original -- Kate Saunders, Review for THE LOOKING GLASS HOUSE * The Times *

You may also be interested in...

The Moon Sister
Added to basket
£18.99   £14.99
Hardback
The Love Letter
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
A Column of Fire
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Sapphire Widow
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Blackpool Lass
Added to basket
£6.99
Paperback
Daughter of the Dales
Added to basket
Dear Mrs Bird
Added to basket
£12.99
Hardback
A Gift from Woolworths
Added to basket
In His Father's Footsteps
Added to basket
The Pearl Sister
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
As the Sun Breaks Through
Added to basket
The House Across the Street
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Last Letter from Istanbul
Added to basket
Love is Blind
Added to basket
£18.99   £15.99
Hardback
The Shadow Sister
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Coming Home to Island House
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback

Reviews

View all

“Victorian Skulldruggery”

My first instinct was to deride a comparison with Sarah Waters whose work I love but having completed the novel I totally understand the parallels. At times this book makes for uncomfortable reading but it covers a... More

Paperback edition
9th April 2018
Helpful? Upvote 3

“Entertaining Victorian tale”

There was less depth than I expected to this enjoyable historical novel, despite the dark subject matter. Although a feeling of menace was established early on, as it became clear Rebecca had been chosen by her... More

Paperback edition
14th April 2018
Helpful? Upvote 2

“Fantastic read”

The Pharmacist's Wife is a thoroughly enjoyable tale of the dark side of Victorian marriage.
Set in Edinburgh in the late 18th century, it tells of newlyweds, Rebecca and her pharmacist husband, Alexander... More

Paperback edition
5th April 2018
Helpful? Upvote 2

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.