Destroying Angel - The Seeker (Paperback)
  • Destroying Angel - The Seeker (Paperback)
zoom

Destroying Angel - The Seeker (Paperback)

(author)
3 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 416 Pages / Published: 07/02/2019
  • 5+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

Winner of the CWA Historical Dagger Award 2019

Murder, treachery and a reckoning with his past await Captain Damian Seeker in Yorkshire in this gripping historical thriller for fans of CJ Sansom and Rory Clements

Captain Damian Seeker has gone north. Charged with preparing the way for the rule of the major-generals, he is now under the command of Colonel Robert Lilburne at York. But when Lilburne orders him to a small village on the North York moors with details of the stringent new anti-Royalist laws, Seeker finds that what should be a routine visit will reveal a plot to rival anything in scheming London

An invitation to dinner at the house of local businessman Matthew Pullan lifts the lid on the bubbling cauldron of grudges and resentment that is Faithly village. The local constable, drunk on the tiny bit of power he holds, using it to avenge old resentments. The hated lord of the manor, the last of a staunchly Royalist family who has managed to avoid suspicion of treachery - for now. The vicar on trial for his job and his home, accused of ungodly acts. And the Pullans themselves, proudly Puritan but disillusioned with Cromwell's government, respected and despised in Faithly in equal measure. The man for whom this unlikely gathering was organised - The Trier, the enforcer of Puritan morality for the local villages - hasn't shown up. And by the end of the night, on of those gathered around Matthew Pullan's table will be fatally poisoned.

Seeker must find out the motive behind the death - mushroom misidentification, petty revenge, or part of a larger plot against Cromwell's government in the north? But who in Faithly, if anyone, can he trust? And when the most painful part of his past reappears after eleven years, will the Seeker meet his match?

Publisher: Quercus Publishing
ISBN: 9781786484185
Number of pages: 416
Weight: 282 g
Dimensions: 197 x 128 x 28 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'A suspenseful, atmospheric addition to one of the best historical crime series around' - The Times 

You may also be interested in...

Daughters of Night
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Black Drop
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Midnight Hour
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle
Added to basket
Blood & Sugar
Added to basket
A Net for Small Fishes
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Ashes of London
Added to basket
Orders to Kill
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Dangerous Women
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Mexican Gothic
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Dream Town
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Suspects
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Clockwork Girl
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
The Essex Serpent
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Leviathan
Added to basket
£14.99
Hardback
Daughters of Night
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Miss Aldridge Regrets
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback

“Fast paced mystery.”

As with the first two books in this series, this one is rich in historical detail. It follows our flawed hero to Yorkshire to unmask all manner of deceit and death. I look forward to the next one.

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 40

“Seek this series out.”

Damian Seeker and his world are absorbing and compelling reading. This is book 3 and already I’m marking the arrival of book 4 into my diary. For me this is by far the best historical crime fiction available today.

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 27

“Great Historical Tale”

S G Maclean brings us another great tale with Damian Seeker. Rich in period feel as always and an interesting story which takes Damian to Yorkshire. It cleverly uses the mistrust of the period and the insularity of... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 22

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.