The Ghost Fields: The Dr Ruth Galloway Mysteries 7 - The Dr Ruth Galloway Mysteries (Paperback)
  • The Ghost Fields: The Dr Ruth Galloway Mysteries 7 - The Dr Ruth Galloway Mysteries (Paperback)
zoom

The Ghost Fields: The Dr Ruth Galloway Mysteries 7 - The Dr Ruth Galloway Mysteries (Paperback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 384 Pages / Published: 02/06/2016
  • We can order this from the publisher

Usually dispatched within 10 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

WINNER OF THE 2016 CWA DAGGER IN THE LIBRARY. A bullet-ridden body is unearthed from a buried WW2 plane - but the body isn't from WW2. Dr Ruth Galloway must discover who the victim was, and who put him there, in this atmospheric mystery for fans of Val McDermid and Ann Cleeves.

'An almost gothic plot, involving family feuds and a crumbling stately home . . . one of the most vivid novels in a delightful series' Sunday Times

When DCI Harry Nelson calls Ruth Galloway in to investigate a body found inside a buried fighter plane, she quickly realizes that the skeleton couldn't possibly be the pilot. DNA tests identify the man as Fred Blackstock, a local aristocrat who had been reported dead at sea.

Events are further complicated by a TV company that wants to make a film about Norfolk's deserted air force bases, the so-called Ghost Fields, which have been partially converted into a pig farm run by one of the younger remaining Blackstocks.

Then human bones are found on the farm and, as the greatest storm Norfolk has seen for decades brews in the distance, another Blackstock is attacked. Can the team outrace the rising flood to find the killer?

Publisher: Quercus Publishing
ISBN: 9781786482174
Number of pages: 384
Weight: 272 g
Dimensions: 196 x 126 x 28 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Elly Griffiths writes ever-more ingenious detective stories with a powerful sense of place and a varied cast of sympathetic and unusual characters. Her heroine is a winner * The Times *
Griffiths weaves superstition and myth into her crime novels, skilfully treading a line between credulity and modern methods of detection * Sunday Times *
An almost gothic plot, involving family feuds and a crumbling stately home, makes this one of the most vivid novels in a delightful series * Sunday Times *
The book's salty, desolate atmosphere of endless marsh and lonely, ancient sands... achieves a shivery aura of mystery you won't soon shake, one that laces past with present in the inescapable march of time * BookPage *
A gentle, meandering plot with a tense ending * Euro Crime *

You may also be interested in...

Walk the Wire
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Dark Remains
Added to basket
A Time for Mercy
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback
V2
Added to basket
V2
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
The President's Daughter
Added to basket
The Apollo Murders
Added to basket
The Guest List
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Long Call
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Lockdown
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Secret Commonwealth: The Book of Dust Volume Two
Added to basket
Find Them Dead
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Burning
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
The Sentinel
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback
Agent Running in the Field
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Just My Luck
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Song for the Dark Times
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback

“Cerebral comfort food”

I came to Elly Griffiths late and completly by accident but after several outings for Ruth and Harry I am delighted this engaging series remains vibrant and engaging. In Ghost Fields she provides yet another twisting... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.