The Maze: A Labyrinthine Compendium (Hardback)
  • The Maze: A Labyrinthine Compendium (Hardback)
zoom

The Maze: A Labyrinthine Compendium (Hardback)

(illustrator), (author), (author)
2 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£24.99
Hardback 144 Pages / Published: 24/09/2018
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable

This product is only available to collect in store.

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
"This intriguing book takes an in-depth look at mazes from all over the world." - Alan Titchmarsh

"Prepare to get lost in the world of labyrinth and maze-making in this attractively packaged book that looks at the history of mazes." - Gardens Illustrated

Mazes have been a part of civilization for at least 4,000 years, and there are more being built now than ever before. What is it about these magical life-size puzzles that continues to intrigue us?

This beautifully illustrated book will delight lovers of mazes, acting as a guide, directory and puzzle book combined.

Specially commissioned illustrations by Thibaud Herem represent 60 real and imagined mazes from around the world, with a bird's eye view of each maze so that readers can make their own journey. Each maze is also accompanied by a fascinating and witty short history.

A must-read book for fans of Red Thread: On Mazes and Labyrinths by Charlotte Higgins and Follow This Thread: A Maze Book to Get Lost In by Henry Eliot

Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
ISBN: 9781786273222
Number of pages: 144
Weight: 300 g
Dimensions: 280 x 205 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
"with vibrant spot colours, sprayed edges, and restrained typography enclosed within maze-like boarders, it's easy to get lost in." -- The Bookseller
"In this new book, Angus Hyland and Kendra Wilson pay homage to an endlessly fascinating subject, examining 6 0 real and fictional mazes from across the world. Each story is accompanied by intricate drawings by French illustrator Thibaud Herem." -- House & Garden

You may also be interested in...

Designing Gardens on Slopes
Added to basket
Hidcote
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
Piet Oudolf
Added to basket
£39.95
Paperback
Landscaping For Dummies
Added to basket
Little Sparta
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback
Planning Your Garden
Added to basket
Planting: A New Perspective
Added to basket
Big Bearded Bookseller

“Beautiful illustrations and fun information”

Whenever there is a Laurence King book available as a reading copy I jump at it, as their products are always beautiful and so readable, and this was no exception.
I’ve always been fascinated by mazes and labyrinth... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 16

“Beautifully informative”

I was lucky enough to receive this book in exchange for a review, and I am so happy to have it in my collection now.

This book is just beautiful - and will prove interesting to anybody whether or not they have set... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 16

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.