The Silken Rose - The She-Wolves Trilogy (Paperback)
  • The Silken Rose - The She-Wolves Trilogy (Paperback)
zoom

The Silken Rose - The She-Wolves Trilogy (Paperback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£9.99
Paperback 352 Pages / Published: 23/07/2020
  • We can order this from the publisher

Usually dispatched within 10 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

They called her the She-Wolf From Provence. She'd shape the destiny of England ...

Fans of Alison Weir, Anne O'Brien and Philippa Gregory, will devour this compelling new novel, starring one of English history's most fierce and courageous forgotten heroines!

'Powerful, gripping and beautifully told' - Kate Furnivall, author of The Liberation

'A feast for the senses and highly recommended' - Deborah Swift, author of Pleasing Mr Pepys

'Well-researched . . . Fascinating' - Joanna Courtney


READERS LOVE THE SILKEN ROSE!

***** 'Stunning start to a new series of She-Wolf Queens'

***** 'Spectacular . . . I will recommend this first part of her new trilogy to everyone'

***** 'Fabulous . . . A lovely, highly researched tale'

***** 'Exceptionally well-written . . . From the first page I was totally caught up in the story'

1236. Ailenor of Provence, cultured and intelligent, is only thirteen when she meets her new husband, Henry III of England. A foreign and friendless princess in a strange land she is determined to please him. And she knows that when the times comes she must provide an heir, to secure the throne against those who would snatch it away.

Rosalind, a commoner skilled in the arts of needlework and embroidery, catches the young queen's attention and a friendship blossoms. But she is unprepared for the dangerous ramifications of winning the queen's favour ...

As closeness, and soon love, develops between Ailenor and Henry, so too does her influence on her husband and her power at court. As France and Wales provide constant threat, and England's barons increasingly resent her influence, Ailenor must learn to be ruthless. Who should she encourage her husband to favour? Who can she trust?

Caught in a web of treachery and deceit, her choices will define the fate of England. To protect her close friends, and her beloved children, Ailenor, the She-Wolf from Provence, would do, and endure, anything ...

AND DISCOVER THE STONE ROSE: THE SUMPTUOUS AND GRIPPING NEW NOVEL FROM CAROL MCGRATH

COMING APRIL 2022: AVAILABLE FOR PREORDER NOW!

Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
ISBN: 9781786157270
Number of pages: 352
Weight: 240 g
Dimensions: 198 x 130 x 26 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Powerful, gripping and beautifully told. A historical novel that will resonate with the #MeToo generation
The scents, colours and intrigues of a medieval court provide a fitting background to this gripping tale of a much maligned queen -- Henrietta Leyser, English Historian
Dives into 13th Century England with the relish of a peregrine's stoop. With the tastiest morsels of quail and the tiniest golden embroidery stitch, the novel steeps the reader in the life of a medieval court -- Joanna Hickson, author of The Tudor Crown
A very well-researched tale of a fascinating period -- Joanna Courtney, author of Blood Queen
A love of medieval history shines through on every page. A feast for the senses and highly recommended to lovers of well-written historical biography -- Deborah Swift, author of Pleasing Mr Pepys

You may also be interested in...

The Tea Planter's Wife
Added to basket
Master and Commander
Added to basket
The Pale Horseman
Added to basket
The Lords of the North
Added to basket
The Lady of the Rivers
Added to basket
Lamentation
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Sword Song
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Sisters Brothers
Added to basket
The Empty Throne
Added to basket
The Leopard
Added to basket
Conspiracy
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Grand Sophy
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Heresy
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Beloved
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Boleyn Inheritance
Added to basket
Dissolution
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Cathy Ann

“Royal dramas, plots, and embroidery, through the eyes of a powerful medieval queen”

The Silken Rose is the first in a trilogy of novels focussing on powerful medieval queens who may have been unfairly documented in history. The viewpoint shifts between Ailenor, brought to England from Provence at... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.