Otherworld (Paperback)
  • Otherworld (Paperback)
zoom

Otherworld (Paperback)

(author), (author)
4 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£7.99
Paperback 368 Pages / Published: 29/03/2018
  • In stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket

"Full of high stakes, thrillers, and fantastic twists and turns, fans of Ready Player One are sure to love this addictive read." -BUZZFEED

Welcome to real life 2.0. Are you ready to play?

There are no screens. There are no controls. You don't just see and hear it - you taste, smell, and touch it too. In this new reality there are no rules to follow, no laws to break. You can live your best life.

It's a game so addictive you'll never want it to end. Until you realize that you're the one being played.

Step into Otherworld. Leave your body behind.

The frightening future that Jason Segel and Kirsten Miller have imagined is not far away. Otherworld asks the question we'll all soon be asking: if technology can deliver everything we want, how much are we willing to pay?

Publisher: Oneworld Publications
ISBN: 9781786074232
Number of pages: 368
Dimensions: 198 x 129 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'Full of high stakes, thrillers, and fantastic twists and turns, fans of Ready Player One are sure to love this addictive read.'

* Buzzfeed *

'A potent commentary on how much we're willing to give up to the lure of technology.'

* EW.com *

'The game is everything they thought it would be, but when freak accidents, corporate conspiracies, and real life threats takeover their lives in the real world, they start questioning both realities.'

* Hypable *

"This is the kind of story you have in your head even when you are not reading it, the kind you can't wait to pick back up, and the kind you have a serious book hangover from."

* Book Mad Blog *

'This fast-paced page-turner by actor Jason Segel and his writing partner Kirsten Miller was hugely refreshing and unexpected...it was near impossible to close the book when my commute was over.'

* Page to Stage Reviews *

'This book is INCREDIBLE! A cross between fantasy and conspiracy, a classic worthy of Homer but in an age of Homer Simpson.This is well-written, well-plotted, funny, tense, exciting, relatable and original. I just can't use enough adjectives.'

* Bookbag *

'It's endlessly imaginative and deeply scary.'

* SFX Magazine *

'VR lovers and other gaming types will be in heaven reading this book, which is an imaginative and entertaining game walk-through combined with mystery and danger.'

* Booklist *

'The quick pick for conspiracy theory fans gives teens just enough setting for their imaginations to run wild while keeping the pacing quick for reluctant readers.'

* School Library Journal *

'It was brilliant, in a creepy yet wonderful way.' - Charlotte, online reviewer

'Don't hesitate for one second to pick up this book.' - Laurene P., online reviewer

'I came to the novel hoping to have it compete for my love of Ready Player One. What I got was so much more.' - Queen of Geekdom, online reviewer

'This is a book that has been missing from my reading life for a long time.' - Queen of Geekdom, online reviewer

'Yes, it will make for a good Christmas present and yes, you will most likely get a copy from me for Christmas.' - Queen of Geekdom, online reviewer

* Online reviews *

'It's a game so addictive you'll never want it to end. Until you realise that you're the one being played.'

* Just4Fun magazine, Australia *

'I couldn't turn the pages fast enough. I thoroughly enjoyed this, and I cannot wait for others to read it!'

Jessica Lyn on Goodreads ****

'Really suspenseful and highly imaginative. I enjoyed this so so much. Can't wait for #2!' Michelle Ann on Goodreads****

'This is going to give Ready Player One a run for its money.' Lisa Wright on Goodreads *****

'Strong plot, tons of action, and characters you can root for. Fans of Ready Player One and Armada (Cline) will devour this.' Tina Panik on Goodreads ****

'Don't hesitate one second to pick up this book. Great story, amazing writing, an all-round win.' Laurene Poret on Goodreads *****

'This is fast paced, always progressing and had some creepy (scarily believable) dark twists which will make you think twice about the true appeal of leaving your reality behind for those few hours.' Rebecca on Goodreads *****

* Goodreads online reviews *

You may also be interested in...

The Desolations of Devil's Acre
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
Twilight
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Cousins
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Holes
Added to basket
£6.99
Paperback
La Belle Sauvage: The Book of Dust Volume One
Added to basket
Lore
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Throne of Glass
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Queen of Nothing (The Folk of the Air #3)
Added to basket
They Both Die at the End
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
The Hate U Give
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Coraline
Added to basket
£6.99
Paperback
One Of Us Is Lying
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Gilded Ones
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes
Added to basket
We Were Liars
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
The Deathless Girls
Added to basket
Diana O. at Aylesbury

“Unputdownable”

If the manga Sword Art Online was a novel, this would be it! This book grabs you from page one and you can't put it down until the last sentence. My head was spinning after I finished this. After so many... More

Hardback edition
4 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 11

“A dangerous and addictive read”

18-year-old Simon is an avid gamer. He spends most of his time inside virtual realities so he can avoid his parents, and life in general, and so when a brand-new game is announced that supposedly blows everything... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 7

“High Stakes, Fact Paced and BRILLIANT”

In Short: This book was BRILLIANT – filled with a plot structure that kept evolving, brave and lifelike characters and a virtual reality game that was more real than virtual. It was fast paced, filled with twists and... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 6

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.