The Waters and the Wild (Paperback)
  • The Waters and the Wild (Paperback)
zoom

The Waters and the Wild (Paperback)

(author)
£12.99
Paperback 320 Pages / Published: 03/05/2018
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable

Email me when available

Stay one step ahead and let us notify you when this item is next available to order

The death of Jessica Burke was easy to explain: a history of depression, a heroin habit, a girl alone in her bathtub. But when her psychoanalyst, Daniel Abend, receives an ominous, handwritten poem, he quickly realizes that this was not just an overdose. As a second and third missive arrive from the same mysterious source, and his daughter abruptly disappears, Daniel finds himself the subject of an elaborate and calculated torment, one that reaches back decades, crosses oceans, and begins with a chance encounter with a beguiling girl in a Paris stairwell.

With richly layered, masterful prose, DeSales Harrison has constructed a brilliantly choreographed and spellbinding tale of desperate fathers, stolen daughters, and the distance we travel for revenge and absolution.

Publisher: Oneworld Publications
ISBN: 9781786071798
Number of pages: 320
Dimensions: 216 x 135 x 23 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
'A wonderfully atmospheric debut.' * Mail on Sunday *
`A complex and multi-layered psychological thriller, imbued with humanity, with some lush writing, this is a slow burn tale that provides much in the way of rewards if you stick to its studied pace.' * Crimetime *
'Serious, atmospheric, a writer of considerable power.' * Patricia Duncker, author of Hallucinating Foucault *
'Beautifully written and achingly romantic, this dazzling gothic-tinged thriller takes us deep into a labyrinth of secrets, lies, and deceptions. It's a stunning debut!' * Dan Chaon, New York Times bestselling author of Ill Will *
`Elegant, elegiac, enigmatic.' * Matthew Pearl, author of The Last Bookaneer *
'A cryptic, beguiling puzzle-box of a book...a mesmeric exploration of guilt in the vein of Vertigo or The Secret History, with the frantic nightmare-logic of a thriller.' * David Gilbert, author of & Sons *

You may also be interested in...

Daughters of Night
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Greenwich Park
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Essex Serpent
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Slow Horses
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Line to Kill
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Death and Croissants
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Night She Disappeared
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Appeal
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
If We Were Villains
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Better Off Dead
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
JUDAS 62
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Black Drop
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Dark Hours
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Verity
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Midnight Hour
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.