What She Never Told Me (Paperback)
  • What She Never Told Me (Paperback)
zoom

What She Never Told Me (Paperback)

(author)
3 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 336 Pages
Published: 08/09/2016
Email me when available to order

We will also notify you if no further stock is available and share alternative book recommendations

What do you do when you find out that your whole life could be a lie? A chilling family drama for fans of Sue Fortin, Louise Candlish and Sabine Durrant's Lie With Me.

I talked to my mother the night she died, losing myself in memories of when we were happiest together. But I held one memory back, and it surfaces now. I see a green postbox and a small hand stretching up to its oblong mouth. I am never sure whether that small hand is mine. But if not mine, whose?

Louise Redmond left Ireland for London before she was twenty. Now, more than two decades later, her heart already breaking from a failing marriage, she is summoned home. Her mother is on her deathbed, and it is Louise's last chance to learn the whereabouts of a father she never knew.

Stubborn to the end, Marjorie refuses to fill in the pieces of her daughter's fragmented past. Then Louise unexpectedly finds a lead. A man called David Prescott . . . but is he really the father she's been trying to find? And who is the mysterious little girl who appears so often in her dreams? As each new piece of the puzzle leads to another question, Louise begins to suspect that the memories she most treasures could be a delicate web of lies.

Publisher: Quercus Publishing
ISBN: 9781784297565
Number of pages: 336
Weight: 235 g
Dimensions: 196 x 128 x 24 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

What She Never Told Me pulls you in from the first page in its exploration of love and identity, and the complicated bonds that tie families together. An absorbing read - Karen Perry, bestselling author of The Boy That Never Was

McQuaile displays great empathy for her characters in this tale of an Ireland where the past can never be left behind - Sinéad Crowley, author of Can Anybody Help Me?

Elegant, clever and totally convincing - Sunday Mirror

An impulsive act has extraordinary consequences in this accomplished novel, that manages to be disturbing and compassionate at the same time. - Joan Smith, Sunday Times

A compelling and compassionate debut novel. - Candis

You may also be interested in...

A Heart Full of Headstones
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Silent Patient
Added to basket
Yellowface
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
My Father's House
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Fury
Added to basket
£18.99   £9.49
Hardback
Act of Oblivion
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Year of the Locust
Added to basket
£22.00   £18.99
Hardback
The Murder Game
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Housemaid
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Verity
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
In The Blink of An Eye
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Birnam Wood
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Running Grave
Added to basket
£25.00   £20.00
Hardback
Past Lying
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Holly
Added to basket
£25.00   £19.99
Hardback
The Skeleton Key
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback

“Secrets and Lies”

Louise Redmond was raised in Ireland and left to live in London over 20 years ago. She is devastated that her marriage has broken down following her husbands announcement that he needs to leave her and wants time on... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 35
Bookread2day

“Secrets are in this novel second review”

It is Louise Redmond who's mother died in this story leaving secrets. Not Louise Remond as in my first review. Louise Redmond life could be a lie.

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 27
Bookread2day

“Secrets are in this book”

Louise Remond mother dies from cancer. Her her mother kept so many secrets from Louise. Marjorie, Louise's mother never filled her in with the information of who her father was and where exactly he lived. After... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 20

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: