The Last Act of Hattie Hoffman (Paperback)
  • The Last Act of Hattie Hoffman (Paperback)
zoom

The Last Act of Hattie Hoffman (Paperback)

(author)
3 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 352 Pages / Published: 24/08/2017
  • We can order this from the publisher

Usually dispatched within 10 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

'A suspenseful and heart-wrenching thriller about ambition, obsession, and what happens when the lies we tell about ourselves become indistinguishable from the truth' ROBIN WASSERMAN

No one keeps more secrets. No one is better at hiding them.
With an ending you will never see coming and characters that will stay with you forever, THE LAST ACT OF HATTIE HOFFMAN is a gripping psychological mystery perfect for fans of THE ROANOKE GIRLS

Eighteen-year-old Hattie Hoffman is a talented actress, loved by everyone in her Minnesotan hometown. When she's found stabbed to death on the opening night of her school play, the tragedy rips through the fabric of the community.

Sheriff Del Goodman, a close friend of Hattie's dad, vows to find her killer, but the investigation yields more secrets than answers: it turns out Hattie played as many parts offstage as on. Told from three perspectives, Del's, Hattie's high school English teacher and Hattie herself, The Last Act of Hattie Hoffman tells the story of the Hattie behind the masks, and what happened in that final year of her life. . .

Wonderfully evocative of its Midwestern setting and with a cast of unforgettable characters, this is a book about manipulation of relationships and identity; about the line between innocence and culpability; about the hope love offers and the tragedies that occur when it spins out of control.

Publisher: Quercus Publishing
ISBN: 9781784295950
Number of pages: 352
Weight: 244 g
Dimensions: 196 x 128 x 26 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
A suspenseful and heart-wrenching thriller about ambition, obsession, and what happens when the lies we tell about ourselves become indistinguishable from the truth -- Robin Wasserman, author of Girls on Fire
Exploits conventional ideas about female manipulation only to challenge them . . . a haunting piece of fiction, full of characters whose self-obsession leads to tragedy * Sunday Times Crime Book of the Month *
Beautifully told, it is Mejia's first book to be published in Britain and announces her as a future star in crime writing * Daily Mail *
A gripping mystery * Guardian *
An exquisitely written look at the claustrophobic nature of small town life, Mindy Mejia has created an atmospheric psychological thriller, with a central character who will live on in your thoughts after the last page is turned -- Sinead Crowley, author of Can Anybody Help Me? and Are You Watching Me?
Mindy Mejia peels away the layers of a small-town crime of passion to leave your heart aching. Sheriff Del Goodman brings a war-weary humanity to a murder investigation that confronts youthful arrogance and presumption, a fear of settling for too little and the tragic force of love. A brilliant crime thriller -- Isabelle Grey, author of Out of Sight, The Bad Mother and Shot Through the Heart
A brilliantly written and intuitive character study . . . at turns heartbreaking and cruelly ironic, a really intense piece of storytelling that digs deep * Liz Loves Books *
Outstanding . . . quietly breathtaking * NZ Herald *

You may also be interested in...

The Survivors
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Marlow Murder Club
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Still Life
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Left You Dead
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Snow
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Last House on Needless Street
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Better Off Dead
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Christmas Murder Game
Added to basket
Troubled Blood
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
A Song for the Dark Times
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Eight Detectives
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Sentinel
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Man Who Died Twice
Added to basket
£18.99   £15.99
Hardback
Better Off Dead
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
As Good As Dead
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
KimG9

“Much more than it seems”

This may sound unfair to say, but this book was much better than I expected it to be. I wouldn't have been surprised by a cliquey teen drama in the backwoods of the American Midwest. But I was wrong. There's... More

Hardback edition
8 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 61
What Cathy Read Next

“Satisfying, suspenseful psychological thriller”

“The first and most important lesson in acting is to read your audience. Know what they want you to be and give it to them.”

Hattie has ambitions to be an actress and leave behind her small-town upbringing for life... More

Paperback edition
3 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 18

“A very compelling read, quite haunting”

When I read the blurb of this book, I just had to read it. Then I saw the cover design and heard the title and it was a foregone conclusion. Interestingly, this book is being released in other parts of the world... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 17

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.