Doctor of the High Fells (Paperback)
  • Doctor of the High Fells (Paperback)
zoom

Doctor of the High Fells (Paperback)

(author)
£9.99
Paperback 512 Pages / Published: 27/08/2015
  • We can order this from the publisher

Usually dispatched within 10 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

From the bestselling author of Miss Appleby's Academy, comes a gritty saga perfect for fans of Dilly Court, Maggie Hope and Nadine Dorries.

Prue's heart beat hard - she had heard of the low seams of the mines of northwest Durham and she had always had a fear of being enclosed. This was her job, she told herself, this was what she had wanted. She must do it. So she picked up her bag and followed them to the cage which carried the miners below ground, praying that the man did not die, that she need not produce some miracle . . .

Determined to practise as a doctor, Prue escapes a loveless marriage to journey far from home and join a surgery in Tow Law. But she soon finds that long hours and limited resources are only the beginning - gaining the townspeople's trust will be her greatest challenge of all. From the bestselling author of Miss Appleby's Academy comes the story of Prue Stanhope, young woman doctor to the miners of Tow Law, County Durham.

Publisher: Quercus Publishing
ISBN: 9781784291488
Number of pages: 512
Weight: 364 g
Dimensions: 196 x 133 x 33 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Gill, a born storyteller, is on fine form as she transports us back to an age of poverty and hardship leavened by the warmth, humanity and loyalty of a tight-knit community and the family ties and friendships that bind them together. An enchanting read for all true romantics. * Lancashire Evening Post *

You may also be interested in...

The Mammoth Hunters
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
The Four Swans
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Girl on the Cliff
Added to basket
The Valley of Horses
Added to basket
A Strong Hand to Hold
Added to basket
The Physician
Added to basket
£26.99
Paperback
The Orphan's Dream
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Doctor Zhivago
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Hothouse Flower
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Angry Tide
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
No One's Girl
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Ross Poldark
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
A Mother's Struggle
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Dancing Till Midnight
Added to basket
Still Waters
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
The Winds of War
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.