Chessboxer (Paperback)
  • Chessboxer (Paperback)
zoom

Chessboxer (Paperback)

(author)
£7.99
Paperback 320 Pages
Published: 03/10/2019
  • In stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

Thrilling, tense and hard-hitting, Chessboxer is perfect for fans of Netflix's The Queen's Gambit

'Gripping and surprising. I gulped it down' Sarah Crossan

Leah Baxter is a genius. She's a few wins away from becoming a junior chess grandmaster, and her life is on course to achieve everything her mom and coach want for her.

But Leah is at stalemate – grieving for her father, and feeling suffocated. She decides to make the ultimate sacrifice and quit chess. But chess doesn't want to quit her. Soon Leah discovers her new gambit: chessboxing, a dangerous hybrid sport which will test her body and mind to their limits. Can the pawn become the queen?

Publisher: Andersen Press Ltd
ISBN: 9781783448401
Number of pages: 320
Weight: 256 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 20 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

"A gripping and surprising novel about the destruction, but also the motivating power, of grief. I gulped it down" - Sarah Crossan

"Original, brash, funny and poignant." - Metro, Children's Books of 2019

"With a truly pulse-quickening climax, this exceptional novel rages with raw emotion. It's a bona fide page-turner with life-affirming insights into grief, friendship and finding new paths." - LoveReading4Kids

"This scintillating book pulses with energy. Chessboxer pounds with the punch of a boxer, and yet remains contemplative, with ideas behind the fast-paced plot as thoughtful as a chess player." - Minerva Reads

"Funny and fast, Chessboxer and its heroine bridge the gap between board games and the boxing ring, seventeenth-century strategy and twenty-first-century blogging, in unexpected and fun ways" - ForeWord

You may also be interested in...

Powerful
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Girl in Pieces
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Unravel Me
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
The Crimson Moth
Added to basket
The End Crowns All
Added to basket
Ruthless Vows
Added to basket
£14.99
Hardback
The Maze Runner
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Tom Gates: Book of Everything
Added to basket
£12.99   £6.49
Hardback
Five Survive
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
One of Us is Back
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Powerful
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
One Of Us Is Lying
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
As Good As Dead Collector's Edition
Added to basket
The Brothers Hawthorne
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Better Than the Movies
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: