Troublemakers (Paperback)
  • Troublemakers (Paperback)
zoom

Troublemakers (Paperback)

(author)
3 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£7.99
Paperback 384 Pages
Published: 01/06/2017
  • In stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

Shortlisted for the Waterstones Children's Book Prize 2018

Described by the Guardian as 'A thought-provoking, richly layered YA novel about politics, love, grief and coming of age' Troublemakers brings together contemporary social issues with a moving story of growing up and learning how to navigate family loyalty and personal belief.

In three years I will be able to vote and I will still have less power than I did at the moment that I saw that email, which was such a tiny thing but look what happened.

Fifteen-year-old Alena never really knew her political activist mother, who died when she was a baby. She has grown up with her older half-brother Danny and his boyfriend Nick in the east end of London.

Now the area is threatened by a bomber who has been leaving explosive devices in supermarkets. It is only a matter of time before a bomb goes off.

Against this increasingly fearful backdrop, Alena seeks to discover more about her past, while Danny takes a job working for a controversial politician.

As her family life implodes, and the threat to Londoners mounts, Alena starts getting into trouble. Then she does something truly rebellious.

A searing, heartbreaking coming-of-age tale for fans of Lisa Williamson, Jenny Downham and Sarah Crossan.

British author Catherine Barter's career as a writer began when she won the 2014 Bath Novel Award. When not writing, she is the co-manager of the radical London bookshop Housmans. Troublemakers is her first novel.

Publisher: Andersen Press Ltd
ISBN: 9781783445240
Number of pages: 384
Weight: 305 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 23 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

"A thought-provoking, richly layered YA novel about politics, love, grief and coming of age." - Imogen Russell Williams, Guardian

"Wonderfully individual and heartbreakingly real" - starred review, Kirkus

"A touching, truthful depiction of an unconventional family life... written before London’s current summer of discontent but captures the effect of a constant climate of unease on young people and the permanently anxious adults who care for them." - Geraldine Brennan, Observer

"A clever, thoughtful novel with a wonderfully realistic main character" - Sarah Webb, Irish Independent

"It’s refreshing to see a contemporary YA novel that focuses so much on family and politics and allows its heroine to escape the narrative without a boyfriend in tow" - Claire Hennessy, Irish Times

"A sparky and timely coming-of-age tale about politics, activism & morality" - Katherine Woodfine

"Family tensions and uncertainty are contrasted against the current political situation in this excellent novel" - Marilyn Brocklehurst, Guardian, The Best New Children's Books supplement

"I loved it, so much so that as soon as I finished I started reading it again. Completely brilliant" - Keren David, author of Salvage

"I couldn’t put Troublemakers down. It's a real page-turner, with utterly believable characters who are all trying to do their best. Barter is a fresh, exciting new voice, and I can’t wait to see what she does next." - Susin Nielsen

"I think it's really brilliant and I absolutely loved it – the voice is terrific. I hope it's loved as much as Jenny Downham's Unbecoming." - Aoife Walsh, author of Too Close To Home

"One of the most woke YA novels EVER and will quickly make you question your own political knowledge and outspokenness" - Maximum Pop! Books

"Politics and the personal combine in a thoughtful, well-told and moving story" - Andrea Reece, Lovereading4Kids

You may also be interested in...

Shatter Me
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
The Only Light Left Burning
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Powerful
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
One Of Us Is Lying
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Better Than the Movies
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
As Good As Dead
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Maze Runner
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Girl in Pieces
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Hunger Games
Added to basket
Powerful
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Ruthless Vows
Added to basket
£14.99
Hardback
Immortal Dark
Added to basket
£18.99
Hardback
One of Us is Back
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Tom Gates: Book of Everything
Added to basket
£12.99   £9.99
Hardback
The Reappearance of Rachel Price
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
The End Crowns All
Added to basket

“Surprising”

When I received this book I thought I had an idea of what it would be about and how it would pan out.
I was totally wrong! This book is very engaging and you just want to keep on reading it even after the last page.... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 52

“A magnificent read ”

Alena has never known her mum. When her brother starts working for a controversial politician and she starts to uncover her mum's activist life, she gets into the kind of trouble that changes everything.... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 43

“Powerful and Important”

I finished Troublemakers in a single day, it was hard to put it down between my breaks at work! I loved it - the voices are so strong, Alena's especially but the other characters as well - they're so real... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 34

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: