• Sign In
  • Help
  • My Basket0
Infinite Ground (Hardback)
  • Infinite Ground (Hardback)
zoom

Infinite Ground (Hardback)

(author)
2 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£12.99
Hardback 272 Pages / Published: 04/08/2016
  • We can order this

Usually despatched within 1 week

  • This item has been added to your basket

Check Marketplace availability

A luminous debut novel of modern alienation, of the sinister beauty of the human body and of the enduring splendour of the natural world. During a sweltering South American summer, a family convenes for dinner at a restaurant. Midway through the meal, Carlos disappears. An experienced, semi-retired inspector takes the case, but what should be a routine investigation becomes something strange, intangible, even sinister. The corporation for which Carlos worked seems to serve no purpose; the staff talk of their missing colleague's alarming, shifting physical symptoms; a forensic scientist uncovers evidence of curious abnormalities in the thriving microorganisms that shared Carlos's body. As the inspector relives and retraces the missing man's footsteps, the trail leads him away from the city sprawl and deep into the country's rainforest interior, where he encounters both horror and wonder.

Publisher: Atlantic Books
ISBN: 9781782399476
Number of pages: 272
Weight: 413 g
Dimensions: 215 x 155 x 25 mm
Edition: Main


MEDIA REVIEWS
Stunning - a totally original, surreal mystery shot through with hints of the best of Cesar Aira, Vladimir Nabokov, Angela Carter, and Julio Cortazar. Smart, clever, and honest. I doubt you've read anything quite like it. -- Jeff VanderMeer, author of The Southern Reach trilogy
Weird, wonderful, totally indefinable... If not the Booker, then surely the Goldsmiths beckons -- Justine Jordan * Guardian *
An electrifying piece of work: strange, terrifying, riveting, and written with scintillating intelligence. In its thinking about the porosity between the human and the non-human, it stands shoulder-to-shoulder with Ballard, Lem, VanderMeer, Tom McCarthy." -- Neel Mukherjee, author of The Lives of Others
This is the work of a most singular and inventive mind, matched by writing with real flair and clarity. It is a book alive with ideas and cock-eyed intelligence, brimming with passages of genuine brilliance. Infinite Ground does that magical thing that only the very best novels do: it makes you see the world afresh. Dazzling stuff. -- Graeme Macrae Burnet, author of His Bloody Project
Strange, haunting, dislocating -- Ian Rankin, author of the Rebus series
Brimming with strong, startling ideas... A curious and often remarkable book * Literary Review *
An accomplished debut. It takes risks and challenges the narrative form. A brave new voice - Martin MacInnes is a writer to look out for. -- Jenni Fagan, author of The Sunlight Pilgrims
A novel of intelligence, grace, cunning and warped imagination, one that melds and sometimes clashes styles and influences to create something original and unsettling. It is a bravura performance, and one that announces Martin MacInnes as one of our most exciting new voices -- Stuart Evers, author of Your Father Sends his Love
Labyrinthine, beautifully written and teeming with ideas about fiction and reality that linger long in the mind... A frighteningly good debut novel -- Lee Rourke, author of Vulgar Things
An impressive and finely textured debut... This is fiction as a metaphorical labyrinth of the mind -- Edward Docx * Guardian *
A talent of the first rank... We want to be informed and entertained, I might also say, provoked and enlarged, and Martin MacInnes delivers on all fronts with writing of genuine bravura and originality -- Christopher Potter, author of How to Make a Human Being
Strange, cerebral, incredibly assured -- Malcolm Forbes * The National *

You may also be interested in...

Force of Nature
Added to basket
£12.99
Hardback
The Only Story
Added to basket
£16.99   £13.99
Hardback
Call Me By Your Name
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine
Added to basket
A Secret Garden
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Swing Time
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Seagull
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Still Me
Added to basket
£20.00   £14.99
Hardback
Lincoln in the Bardo
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Reservoir 13
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Lullaby
Added to basket
£12.99   £9.99
Paperback
The Endless Beach
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Midwinter Break
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Exit West
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Travelling Cat Chronicles
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Defectors
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback

Reviews

View all

“Weird and wonderful”

A man vanishes. A retired inspector is tasked to find him and tries to solve the case in quite unorthodox ways. He uses scientific methods and philosophical approaches, leading him to unexpected conclusions and... More

Angie at Glasgow Sauchiehall Street

“Wonderfully strange and intriguing, darkly surreal and absurdist in the tradition of Camus, Kafka, Samuel Beckett, and Tom McCarthy, with an undeniable twang of 'Heart of Darkness'. ”

Thanks so much to Atlantic Books for making proofs of this novel available to booksellers (I will now be passing my copy on to a colleague since I liked the book so much I had to buy the hardback as soon as it arrived... More

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.