Amnesia: An 'ingenious' and 'twisting novel', perfect for fans of Peter Lovesey and William Ryan (Paperback)
  • Amnesia: An 'ingenious' and 'twisting novel', perfect for fans of Peter Lovesey and William Ryan (Paperback)
zoom

Amnesia: An 'ingenious' and 'twisting novel', perfect for fans of Peter Lovesey and William Ryan (Paperback)

(author)
3 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£7.99
Paperback 368 Pages / Published: 04/01/2018
  • In stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

Alastair Cunningham wakes up in hospital with almost total amnesia. But he knows that something terrible happened in his past, something that haunts him still. A young family friend, Clemence, is called in to help rekindle his memory. Retreating with Alastair to his remote cottage by a Scottish loch, Clemence finds a peculiar manuscript hidden away from prying eyes. Reading the prologue, she discovers a murder by someone very much like a young Alastair. The victim? Clemence's grandmother, Sophie. Could this kindly old man truly be a killer? Clemence becomes determined to find out what happened all those years ago, even if she must risk everything to do so...

Publisher: Atlantic Books
ISBN: 9781782397588
Number of pages: 368
Weight: 258 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 22 mm
Edition: Main


MEDIA REVIEWS
Highly ingenious and engaging: a mystery within a mystery within a mystery, like one of those Russian dolls. I was gripped. The irony in all this is that Amnesia will lodge in my memory for years to come. * Peter Lovesey *
One of our finest thriller writers... Atmospheric, sinuous and elegant, [Amnesia] demonstrates Ridpath's special talent. * Daily Mail *
Scenically breath-taking, ingeniously plotted...The best thriller you'll read all year * Frances Fyfield *
I defy you to put this down before you've read to the bitter end. This book is absolutely compulsive. Another fabulous and irresistible thriller from the UK's king of crime. * Michael Jecks *
With its setting in the Highlands of Scotland and Italy, Amnesia is a compelling and complex thriller. This is Michael Ridpath writing at his elegant best, prolonging the tension right up to the neat little twist on the very last page. * Aline Templeton *
A wonderfully twisty thriller, with unflagging pace and a premise to die for. * Andrew Taylor *
A really top-notch story which weaves past and present into a nerve-jangling edge-of-your-seat thriller. -- Robert Goddard
A complex story, well researched and beautifully executed, pacy but poignant - I loved it. * Mari Hannah *
Impossible to put down - a great read. Loved the ending. * Thomas Enger *
A fabulous story from a real master of crime. * Michael Jecks *
Creepy, mysterious and thrilling, this is great storytelling with a heart. * Stav Sherez *
Amnesia is Michael Ridpath at the top of his game - a gripping, twisting novel that begs to be read in one sitting. * William Ryan *
With Amnesia, Ridpath has managed to create a beautifully crafted novel, a devilishly and intricately woven mystery, an intelligent but tight-paced thriller. Exceptional. * Craig Russell *
An engaging heroine and a clever, multi-stranded plot make Amnesia an enthralling read. * Mick Herron *
Amnesia is a tense thriller which expertly weaves the past and present together to create a narrative which will keep you hooked from one chapter to the next. * Bookbag *
Michael Ridpath grabs your attention from the opening sentence and holds it until the very end with a plot that is both original and believable. This is a remarkable study of love, friendship, loss and regret within the tight framework of page-turning thriller. * L.C. Tyler *
Really loved the ingenious, engrossing Amnesia by Michael Ridpath. A clever concept, expertly handled and beautifully, vividly written. * Steve Mosby *
Well-written, convincing, enjoyable.. and very satisfying * CrimeReview.co.uk *

You may also be interested in...

The Night Gate
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Song for the Dark Times
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Appeal
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Transient Desires
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Good Girl's Guide to Murder
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Survivors
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Still Life
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Dinner Guest
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Coffinmaker's Garden
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Left You Dead
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Turn a Blind Eye
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Marlow Murder Club
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Better Off Dead
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Anxious People
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Eight Detectives
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“Gripping and Enticing”

This book starts in the thick of the action, immediately drawing you in and encouraging you to read on. Within the first few chapters the author establishes, very confidently and clearly, the two main characters,... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 71

“A Story Within A Story”


Absolutely fantastic! Had no idea where the plot was going. I loved how the author put a book within a book. Just when you think you've figured it out he put a twist in that makes you question yourself. Filled... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 61
Bookread2day

“Brilliant”

Sheila MacInnes is responsible for renting out the cottage to Alastair. She cleaned it for him and visited him most days. It was Sheila who found Alastair at the bottom of the stairs. The hospital said Alastair has... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 44

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.