The Fall and Rise of Lucy Charlton (Paperback)
  • The Fall and Rise of Lucy Charlton (Paperback)
zoom

The Fall and Rise of Lucy Charlton (Paperback)

(author)
£9.99
Paperback 400 Pages / Published: 13/02/2014
  • We can order this from the publisher

UK delivery within 3-4 weeks

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

From the bestselling author of Miss Appleby's Academy comes a gritty, emotional saga, perfect for fans of Dilly Court, Nadine Dorries and Maggie Hope.

1920, Durham.
Since she was a child, Lucy Charlton has dreamed of working with her father in the family solicitor's firm. But a scandal shatters her dreams and, when her father disowns her, she finds herself on the streets, fighting for survival.

Joe Hardy has returned to London after the Great War to find his life in tatters - his father is dead and his pregnant fiancee has disappeared. Then Joe learns he's unexpectedly inherited an old river house in Durham from a stranger called Margaret Lee. With nothing left for him in London, he makes arrangements to travel north and claim it.

Lucy's determination has finally secured her a job as a legal secretary, campaigning for the rights of the poorest in society. As Joe arrives in her office to collect the keys to his new home, she promises to help him uncover information about his mystery benefactor. But before long, the past comes back to haunt them both, with shocking consequences...

Publisher: Quercus Publishing
ISBN: 9781780878492
Number of pages: 400
Weight: 314 g
Dimensions: 198 x 125 x 34 mm

You may also be interested in...

London
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback
The Other Boleyn Girl
Added to basket
A Place of Greater Safety
Added to basket
Girl With a Pearl Earring
Added to basket
The Pale Horseman
Added to basket
The White Princess
Added to basket
The Name of the Rose
Added to basket
The Silver Pigs
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
A Place Called Winter
Added to basket
The Red Queen
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Restoration
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Master and Commander
Added to basket
The Leopard
Added to basket
Dissolution
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Oscar and Lucinda
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Conspiracy
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.