The Best of All Possible Worlds (Paperback)
  • The Best of All Possible Worlds (Paperback)
zoom

The Best of All Possible Worlds (Paperback)

(author)
£9.99
Paperback 336 Pages / Published: 01/05/2014
  • In stock

UK delivery within 5 days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Waterstones Says

Intelligent and meditative, The Best of All Possible Worlds is an intergalactic love story that explores issues of gender politics and ethnography alongside a stunningly immersive sci-fi plot. Perfect for fans of Ursula K. Le Guin, Lord’s great novel is imaginative fiction for grown-ups.

'An engrossing picaresque quest, a love story, and a moving character study of two very different people coming to understand themselves ... Lord is on a par with Ursula K Le Guin' - The Guardian

This is a story of hope. Grace Delarua, a civil servant with the government of Cygnus Beta, remembers when the Sadiri arrived on their planet, a galactic hinterland for pioneers and refugees.

This is a story of survival. Dllenahkh, leader of the small group of Sadiri settlers on Cygnus Beta, remembers the cool strong blues and gentle sunlight of his home world. He also remembers the moment he was told his planet was destroyed.

This is a story of love. Now they must work together to rebuild his decimated population by searching for the last surviving members of his race.

This is a story about finding the best of all possible worlds.

Publisher: Quercus Publishing
ISBN: 9781780871684
Number of pages: 336
Weight: 280 g
Dimensions: 198 x 130 x 26 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'Karen Lord's second novel carries deliberate echoes of Ray Bradbury's classic Mars colonisation stories. It's refined, meditative and life-affirming, and its exploration of gender politics and ethnology confirms Lord as the natural heiress to Octavia Butler and Ursula Le Guin' - The Financial Times

You may also be interested in...

Dune
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Fahrenheit 451
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Night Circus
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.99
Paperback
The Priory of the Orange Tree
Added to basket
Piranesi
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Shining
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Mordew
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Ninth House
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
House of Earth and Blood
Added to basket
Mexican Gothic
Added to basket
The Last Wish
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Norse Mythology
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy
Added to basket
The City We Became
Added to basket
Alice
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Left-Handed Booksellers of London
Added to basket
Six Crimson Cranes
Added to basket
Empire of the Vampire
Added to basket

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.