The Waters and the Wild (Hardback)
  • The Waters and the Wild (Hardback)
zoom

The Waters and the Wild (Hardback)

(author)
£14.99
Hardback 320 Pages / Published: 03/05/2018
  • Temporarily unavailable

Currently unavailable to order

Email me when available

Stay one step ahead and let us notify you when this item is next available to order

The death of Jessica Burke was easy to explain: a history of depression, a heroin habit, a girl alone in her bathtub. But when her psychoanalyst, Daniel Abend, receives an ominous, handwritten poem, he quickly realizes that this was not just an overdose. After his daughter abruptly disappears, Daniel finds himself the subject of an elaborate and calculated torment, one that reaches back decades, crosses oceans, and begins with a chance encounter with a beguiling girl in a Paris stairwell.

Publisher: Oneworld Publications
ISBN: 9781780749112
Number of pages: 320
Dimensions: 216 x 135 x 28 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'An intriguing psychological thriller with a strong emotional punch.'

* Daily Mail *

'A wonderfully atmospheric debut.'

* Mail on Sunday *

'A complex and multi-layered psychological thriller, imbued with humanity, with some lush writing, this is a slow burn tale that provides much in the way of rewards if you stick to its studied pace.'

* Crimetime *

'Serious, atmospheric, a writer of considerable power.'

* Patricia Duncker, author of Hallucinating Foucault *

'Beautifully written and achingly romantic, this dazzling gothic-tinged thriller takes us deep into a labyrinth of secrets, lies, and deceptions. It's a stunning debut!'

* Dan Chaon, New York Times bestselling author of Ill Will *

'Elegant, elegiac, enigmatic.'

* Matthew Pearl, author of The Last Bookaneer *

'A cryptic, beguiling puzzle-box of a book...a mesmeric exploration of guilt in the vein of Vertigo or The Secret History, with the frantic nightmare-logic of a thriller.'

* David Gilbert, author of & Sons *

'A creepy, propulsive novel about guilt and shame, partly set in Paris and with plenty of God Stuff. Unlike any other thriller you'll read this year.'

* Eleanor Franzen, Heywood Hill Books *

You may also be interested in...

JUDAS 62
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Midnight Hour
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Girl A
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Greenwich Park
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Man Who Died Twice
Added to basket
£18.99   £14.99
Hardback
If We Were Villains
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Better Off Dead
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
As Good As Dead
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Lamplighters
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Heron's Cry
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Line to Kill
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Khan
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Sixteen Horses
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Daughters of Night
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Good Girl, Bad Blood
Added to basket
Not a Happy Family
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.