Fox and I: An Uncommon Friendship (Hardback)
  • Fox and I: An Uncommon Friendship (Hardback)
zoom

Fox and I: An Uncommon Friendship (Hardback)

(author), (author)
2 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£16.99
Hardback 320 Pages
Published: 08/07/2021
  • In stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

In this profound and unique account of her friendship with a fox, Biologist Catherine Raven’s memoir draws from her in-depth scientific understanding to deliver a mesmerising meditation on the nature of connection, survival and change.

Catherine Raven has lived alone since the age of 15. After finishing her PhD in biology, she built herself a tiny cottage on an isolated plot of land in Montana, in a place as far away from other people as possible. She viewed the house as a way station, a temporary rest stop where she could gather her nerves and fill out applications for what she hoped would be a real job that would help her fit into society.

Then one day she realises she has company: a mangy-looking fox who starts showing up at her house every afternoon at 4.15pm. She has never had a visitor before. How do you even talk to a fox? She brings out her camping chair, sits as close to him as she dares, and begins reading to him from The Little Prince. Her scientific training has taught her not to anthropomorphise animals, yet as she grows to know him, his personality reveals itself and the two form a powerful bond - shaken only when natural disaster threatens to destroy their woodland refuge.

Fox and I is a story of survival and transformation, a captivating tale of a friendship between two species in a shared habitat, battling against the uncontainable forces of nature on one side and humanity on the other - immersive, original and utterly unforgettable.

Publisher: Octopus Publishing Group
ISBN: 9781780725093
Number of pages: 320
Weight: 427 g
Dimensions: 218 x 144 x 32 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

A tender, shrewd exploration of the redemption that comes when we start to know that we, whoever and wherever we are, are wild things, crucially defined by our relationship with the wild. - Charles Foster, author of Being a Beast and Being a Human

A wise and intimate book about a solitary woman, a biologist by training, who befriends a fox. More than that, it's the tale of a human mind trained to be logical being touched by nature and coming to realize a greater truth. If Thoreau had read The Little Prince, he would have written Fox and I. - Yann Martel, bestselling author of Life of Pi

A smart and tender memoir of an unexpected bond between a biologist and a fox... Fox & I crisply upends the hierarchy that places humans at the top of a pyramid. - Katherine E. Standefer, New York Times

Intimate and poetic . . . . By paying ecstatic attention to grasses, insects, birds, and animals, Catherine Raven allows us to hear what nature is saying to us. Fox and I is essential reading for anyone concerned about the catastrophe human beings are inflicting on the environment from which they and all other creatures sprang. - Stephen Batchelor, author of The Art of Solitude

This tale of wilderness, in the tradition of Thoreau and Steinbeck, is distinguished by a narrator who sees herself as one of the many creatures she lives among . . . . Catherine Raven has achieved something unique in the literature of nature-writing: genuine love for the wild within the rigor of scientific observation. The voice of this storyteller is startlingly original. I read it breathlessly. - Andrei Codrescu

The observations of high-desert nature -- of wildlife, plants, landscapes, weather -- in this book are some of the best you will ever read. The story of Catherine Raven's and the fox's friendship charmed me and drew me in completely. - Ian Frazier, author of Great Plains

Fox and I is a mesmerizing, beautifully written, and entirely unsentimental book about the connection amongst all things: the author and her fox friend, but also magpies, brown dogs, fawns, voles, and junipers. Catherine Raven helped me reorient myself in the universe; she encourages readers to stop, listen, and look at the landscapes around us without putting ourselves in the center of them. I learned as much about the meaning of friendship from this book as I have from any work of nonfiction that I've ever read. - Will Schwalbe, New York Times bestselling author of The End of Your Life Book Club and Books for Living

You may also be interested in...

A Flat Place
Added to basket
£10.99   £9.49
Paperback
By the River
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Ten Birds That Changed the World
Added to basket
£10.99   £9.49
Paperback
The Golden Mole
Added to basket
£10.99   £8.99
Paperback
The Lost Rainforests of Britain
Added to basket
£10.99   £9.49
Paperback
RSPB Pocket Guide to British Birds
Added to basket
The Wild Silence
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
The Rising Down
Added to basket
£25.00   £21.99
Hardback
Braiding Sweetgrass
Added to basket
The Hidden Life of Trees
Added to basket
The Year of Sitting Dangerously
Added to basket
Food For Free
Added to basket
£6.99
Paperback
Bitch
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
The Observant Walker
Added to basket
£12.99   £10.99
Paperback
The Forager's Calendar
Added to basket
Sarn Helen
Added to basket
£10.99   £9.49
Paperback
George
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback

“a moving, thought-provoking and illuminating read.”

4.5★s
“Those of us who have barnacled ourselves to inhospitable places may be trying to avoid people not because we do not like people, but because we love the things that people destroyed. Wild things. Horizons.... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 9

“One of the best books I've ever read, and the best one about foxes!”

"Fox & I" by Catherine Raven is one of the best books I've ever read, and hands down, bar none, the best book I've ever read about foxes.
It made me smile, hold my breath, cry and laugh out... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 5

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: