The Coincidence Authority (Paperback)
  • The Coincidence Authority (Paperback)
zoom

The Coincidence Authority (Paperback)

(author)
5 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£9.99
Paperback 320 Pages / Published: 04/09/2014
  • In stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

For fans of THE UNLIKELY PILGRIMAGE OF HAROLD FRY, THE ADJUSTMENT BUREAU, Mark Watson and Mark Haddon, here is a cleverly written mystery about fate, circumstance, destiny and coincidence from COSTA AWARD-shortlisted author, John Ironmonger. This quirky read is hard to put down and spans philosophy, conflict, relationships and romance.

Thomas Post is an expert on coincidences. He's an authority. People come to see him, to ask him if he can explain strange events that have befallen them, and he can always explain these things away. We poor humans, he would say, have a tendency to make patterns out of random shapes, or to construct meaning from the random behaviour of the universe.

But one day Thomas gets a visit from Azalea Lewis, and his world will never be the same again. For Azalea's coincidences seem to go off the scale. The lives of Thomas and Azalea become entwined, their destinies entangled. And now, with Azalea apparently dead in a foreign land, Thomas must reassemble the pieces of her life in search for the patterns that drove it. And that means he must try to unravel the coincidences that so afflicted her.

Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
ISBN: 9781780220840
Number of pages: 320
Weight: 260 g
Dimensions: 196 x 128 x 22 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
This is an absorbing and unusual novel suffused with intelligence, charm and humanity and I highly recommend it. * THE BOOKSELLER *
This story twists like a pretzel, the author teases and tantalises the reader, and it's delightfully unexpected. * THE TIMES *
A love story that is also a story of ideas...The love story between Thomas and Azalea is touching and gently written. * THE METRO *

You may also be interested in...

The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo
Added to basket
Malibu Rising
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Khan
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Song of Achilles
Added to basket
Before the Coffee Gets Cold
Added to basket
Death and the Penguin
Added to basket
Oh William!
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Normal People
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Lessons in Chemistry
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
The Midnight Library
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Island of Missing Trees
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
How to Kill Your Family
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Still Life
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Paper Palace
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Young Mungo
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
It Ends With Us
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“The science behind coincidence.”

A great find from the Waterstones card Pot Luck book draw. A layered novel yet easy to read and hugely enjoyable, a modern love story, a look at alternative familial relations and the opposition of fact and fate.
Each... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 70

“Fantastic book”

This book kept me gripped all way through. It seemed to have everything in it, murder, history, romance and they all intertwined so so well. I had even learned things from this book about Africa and after I had... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 36

“Delightfully witty.”

I won't go into too much detail as all the other reviews have done this for me, I'll just say that if you want a quick but highly enjoyable read, this is it.
It's a bit of a mindbender, never what you... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 25

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.