The Coincidence Authority (Paperback)
  • The Coincidence Authority (Paperback)

The Coincidence Authority (Paperback)

5 Reviews Write your review
£7.99
Paperback Published: 04/09/2014
  • In stock

We can send it to you within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Click & Collect From your local shop
For fans of THE UNLIKELY PILGRIMAGE OF HAROLD FRY, THE ADJUSTMENT BUREAU, Mark Watson and Mark Haddon, here is a cleverly written mystery about fate, circumstance, destiny and coincidence from COSTA AWARD-shortlisted author, John Ironmonger. This quirky read is hard to put down and spans philosophy, conflict, relationships and romance. Thomas Post is an expert on coincidences. He's an authority. People come to see him, to ask him if he can explain strange events that have befallen them, and he can always explain these things away. We poor humans, he would say, have a tendency to make patterns out of random shapes, or to construct meaning from the random behaviour of the universe. But one day Thomas gets a visit from Azalea Lewis, and his world will never be the same again. For Azalea's coincidences seem to go off the scale. The lives of Thomas and Azalea become entwined, their destinies entangled. And now, with Azalea apparently dead in a foreign land, Thomas must reassemble the pieces of her life in search for the patterns that drove it. And that means he must try to unravel the coincidences that so afflicted her.

Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
ISBN: 9781780220840

You may also be interested in...

“Fantastic book”

This book kept me gripped all way through. It seemed to have everything in it, murder, history, romance and they all intertwined so so well. I had even learned things from this book about Africa and after I had... More

Paperback edition
20th March 2015
Helpful? Upvote 2

“Delightfully witty.”

I won't go into too much detail as all the other reviews have done this for me, I'll just say that if you want a quick but highly enjoyable read, this is it.
It's a bit of a mindbender, never what you... More

Paperback edition
20th September 2014
Helpful? Upvote 1

“The science behind coincidence.”

A great find from the Waterstones card Pot Luck book draw. A layered novel yet easy to read and hugely enjoyable, a modern love story, a look at alternative familial relations and the opposition of fact and fate.
Each... More

Paperback edition
7th September 2014
Helpful? Upvote 1

Your review has been submitted successfully.

We would love to hear what you think of Waterstones. Why not review Waterstones on Trustpilot?


Review us on Trustpilot