• Sign In
  • Help
  • My Basket0
The Last Hours: A sweeping, utterly gripping historical novel for fans of Kate Mosse and Julian Fellowes (Hardback)
  • The Last Hours: A sweeping, utterly gripping historical novel for fans of Kate Mosse and Julian Fellowes (Hardback)
zoom

The Last Hours: A sweeping, utterly gripping historical novel for fans of Kate Mosse and Julian Fellowes (Hardback)

(author)
£20.00 £15.99
Hardback 560 Pages / Published: 02/11/2017
  • Save £4.01
  • In stock online

Usually despatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

June, 1348: the Black Death enters England through the port of Melcombe in the county of Dorsetshire.

Unprepared for the virulence of the disease, and the speed with which it spreads, the people of the county start to die in their thousands.

In the estate of Develish, Lady Anne takes control of her people's future - including the lives of two hundred bonded serfs. Strong, compassionate and resourceful, Lady Anne chooses a bastard slave, Thaddeus Thurkell, to act as her steward. Together, they decide to quarantine Develish by bringing the serfs inside the walls.

With this sudden overturning of the accepted social order, where serfs exist only to serve their lords, conflicts soon arise. Ignorant of what is happening in the world outside, they wrestle with themselves, with God and with the terrible uncertainty of their futures.

Lady Anne's people fear starvation but they fear the pestilence more. Who amongst them has the courage to leave the security of the walls? And how safe is anyone in Develish when a dreadful event threatens the uneasy status quo..?

A bestselling British crime writer, Minette Walters published her first full-length novel, The Ice House in 1992, winning the Crime Writers’ Association John Creasy Award for best first novel. Her other novels include The Sculptress and The Scold’s Bridle. Her first novel for ten years, The Last Hours is also her first work of fiction outside of the crime genre.

Publisher: Allen & Unwin
ISBN: 9781760632137
Number of pages: 560
Weight: 866 g
Dimensions: 240 x 162 x 46 mm
Edition: Main


MEDIA REVIEWS
A staggeringly talented writer. * Guardian *
Wonderful and sweeping, with a fabulous sense of place and history * Kate Mosse on The Last Hours *
An enthralling account of a calamitous time, and above all a wonderful testimony to the strength of the human spirit. I was caught from the first page. * Julian Fellowes on The Last Hours *
Atmosphere, imagination and narrative power of which few other writers are capable * The Times *
A vividly-wrought and powerful story. With The Last Hours, Minette Walters has brought her impressive skill as a writer of psychological crime to create a dark and gripping depiction of Medieval England in the jaws of the Black Death. * Elizabeth Fremantle on The Last Hours *
A seductive writer with an imagination that makes her dangerous to know * Sunday Express *
Walters's skill and subtlety in portraying the suffering and disarray of a feudal society in which disease rampages and God has seemingly gone mad is masterly. And, as with her bestselling suspense novels, the psychological drama is gripping. -- Elizabeth Buchan * Daily Mail *
Walters's crime novels are admired for their claustrophobic atmosphere and precision-engineered suspense. With The Last Hours, she has swapped that taut plotting for a more expansive structure and ambitiously broad canvas. * Guardian *
Gripping and original * BBC History Magazine *
Historical novels depend upon the writer's ability to create a credible past world and Walters manages this very well... This is an ideal read for those who just want a good story well told. Snuggle up in a chair on a cold winter night and enjoy. * nudge-book.com *

You may also be interested in...

Beloved
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Pale Horseman
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Paying Guests
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Lady of the Rivers
Added to basket
Harlequin
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Bring Up the Bodies
Added to basket
The Other Boleyn Girl
Added to basket
Lamentation
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The White Princess
Added to basket
A Place of Greater Safety
Added to basket
A Place Called Winter
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Edge of Eternity
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Heresy
Added to basket
£8.99   £5.99
Paperback
Master and Commander
Added to basket
The Leopard
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Tea Planter's Wife
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback

Reviews

View all

“A breathtaking journey of the human spirit and its survival”

The arrival of the Black Death pits the selfish expectations and blinkered resistance of some, against those who have opened their eyes and hearts to work with each other, lessoning the ordeals they face by taking... More

Hardback edition
1st November 2017
Helpful? Upvote 30

“Medieval drama”

I was really drawn into this enjoyable historical novel which painted an imaginative and thoroughly-researched picture of life in medieval England. It was a brutal and frightening world with a strict hierarchy imposed... More

Hardback edition
24th October 2017
Helpful? Upvote 30

“A change in style”

I was sent a copy of The Last Hours by Minette Walters to read and review by NetGalley.
This is a very different book from Minette Walters compared to her ‘classics’ The Ice House and The Sculptress. This novel is set... More

Hardback edition
30th October 2017
Helpful? Upvote 24

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.