The Illumination of Ursula Flight (Hardback)
  • The Illumination of Ursula Flight (Hardback)
zoom

The Illumination of Ursula Flight (Hardback)

(author)
£12.99
Hardback 416 Pages / Published: 03/05/2018
  • We can order this from the publisher

Usually dispatched within 10 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

One of Stylist's must-read books of 2018

'Original and charming, joyous and funny.' Tessa Hadley

'...[this] debut novel sweeps us away to the world of Ursula Flight, wannabe actress and playwright in 17th-century Britain. Ursula is a spirited and funny protagonist.' Sarah Shaffi, Stylist


'ON THE 15TH DAY OF DECEMBER IN THE YEAR OF OUR LORD 1664, A GREAT LIGHT BLOOMED IN THE DARK SKY...'

Born on the night of a bad-luck comet, Ursula Flight has a difficult destiny written in the stars. Growing up with her family in the country, she is educated by a forward-thinking father who enables her to discover a love of reading, writing and astrology. Ursula dreams of becoming a famous playwright, but is devastated to learn she must instead fulfil her family's expectations and marry. Trapped and lost, Ursula plots her escape - but her freedom will come at a price.

As Ursula's dangerous desires play out, both on and off the stage, she's flung into a giddy world of actors, aristocrats and artistic endeavours which will change her life irrevocably.

A gutsy coming-of-age story about a spirited young woman struggling to lead a creative life, this uplifting tale vividly evokes the glittering world of Restoration-era theatre. For anyone who has ever tried to succeed against the odds, The Illumination of Ursula Flight is an inspiring journey of love and loss, heartbreak and all-consuming passion. This is a debut pulsating with life for readers of Jessie Burton, Sarah Waters and Sarah Perry.

Publisher: Allen & Unwin
ISBN: 9781760632014
Number of pages: 416
Weight: 785 g
Dimensions: 242 x 168 x 37 mm
Edition: Main


MEDIA REVIEWS
...abounds with ribald wit. Crowhurst has an affinity for table-turning Restoration theatre and a talent for deliciously pert dialogue. A thoroughly original work of imagination. * The Times *
...offers a joyous romp through Restoration England, with a heroine who lingers long in the imagination after the final page. * Guardian *

Told in Ursula's voice, interspersed with extracts from the unstaged plays into which she turns her everyday
life, Crowhurst's novel is good, tongue-in-cheek fun.

* Sunday Times *
[a] riotous coming-of-age debut * Psychologies *
The period of Charles II's Restoration really comes alive in this wonderfully drawn story and Ursula...is a heroine it's impossible not to love. * Red *
[A] hugely enjoyable, riotous coming-of-age debut * Sunday Express *
I find this funny, eccentric, touching novel fairly irresistible. Ursula's story is told in an inventive mix of modes, through fragments and lists and plays and letters; it's a spirited funny romp and yet it feels much more than that too - touching and urgent and vivid. It's fluent, accomplished, polished, funny and charming. -- Tessa Hadley
This 17th century coming-of-age tale is at once subversive, moving and utterly fresh and original. -- Nathan Filer
This is, without doubt, a rollicking summer read - and Ursula Flight a 17th-century feminist hero for our post-#MeToo times. * The Pool *
This sprightly, romping novel revels in its period: the Restoration world of Ursula Flight is presented with irresistible relish. Crowhurst's enthusiasm for her subject is contagious, and her playful handling of form shows great control and confidence. Bravo! -- Imogen Hermes Gower, author of THE MERMAID AND MRS HANCOCK
Witty, engaging and very clever, The Illumination of Ursula Flight is absolutely my kind of novel. -- Elizabeth Fremantle
A glorious book, cleverly done and lushly written with a witty, vivid heroine. -- Kiran Millwood Hargrave
...[this] debut novel sweeps us away to the world of Ursula Flight, wannabe actress and playwright in 17th-century Britain. Ursula is a spirited and funny protagonist. -- Sarah Shaffi * Stylist *

You may also be interested in...

The Siege Of Krishnapur
Added to basket
The Emperor's Babe
Added to basket
A Mother's Secret
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Heresy
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Paying Guests
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Dissolution
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.99
Paperback
Lady Of The English
Added to basket
Sword Song
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Pale Horseman
Added to basket
Beloved
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Empty Throne
Added to basket
The Leopard
Added to basket
HMS Surprise
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Troubles
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Lamentation
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Remarkable Creatures
Added to basket

“Sumptuous feat of a novel!”

Ursula Flight was born on no ordinary evening. The stars were colliding causing exquisite patterns in the night sky. She is clever, intelligent, with a love of literature and astrology. When she marries she is... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 88

“A luminous read”

This is a wonderfully vivid work of historical fiction, with a captivating heroine.
Ursula's world is revealed through her thoughts and experiences, sometimes in the form of her writings, including lists, letters... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 14

“A Stunning Debut”

The Illumination of Ursula Flight is the stunning debit novel by Anna-Marie Crowhurst. The imaginative and memorable cover hints that the story inside is going to be a special one, and Ursula’s tale is definitely... More

Hardback edition
2 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 13

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.