The New Woman - Charity Norman Reading-Group Fiction (Paperback)
  • The New Woman - Charity Norman Reading-Group Fiction (Paperback)
zoom

The New Woman - Charity Norman Reading-Group Fiction (Paperback)

(author)
5 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 384 Pages / Published: 23/07/2015
  • In stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

Luke Livingstone is a lucky man. He's a respected solicitor, a father and grandfather, a pillar of the community. He has a loving wife and an idyllic home in the Oxfordshire countryside. Yet Luke is struggling with an unbearable secret, and it's threatening to destroy him.

All his life, Luke has hidden the truth about himself and his identity. It's a truth so fundamental that it will shatter his family, rock his community and leave him outcast. But Luke has nowhere left to run, and to continue living, he must become the person - the woman - he knows himself to be, whatever the cost.

Publisher: Allen & Unwin
ISBN: 9781743318751
Number of pages: 384
Weight: 355 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 27 mm
Edition: Main


MEDIA REVIEWS
A poignant tale of one person's transgender journey. * Heat *
Completely brilliant - you won't be able to turn the pages fast enough. * Bella *
I shouted at this novel. I cast it away, abandoned, only to return to its beguiling pages. * Buzz *
This is the author's fourth book and although I've said it before, it's her best. I can't wait to see what subject she'll tackle next. * The Sun *
Charity Norman traces the effects with skill and sensitivity in a convincing and often moving novel. * WI Life *
The New Woman is an extremely moving story that examines what it is to live with gender identity disorder... You will find this a compelling read that will keep you turning the pages until the very end. * The Bookbag *
Move over Jodi Picoult. New Zealand-based author Charity Norman has the same clever knack of taking an issue and examining it from all angles, to see the effect it has on everyone involved. * New Zealand Herald *
This is another wonderful and very thought-provoking story that I consumed in a single day. * The Sun on The Son-in-Law *
Engrossing. * Woman and Home on The Son-in-Law *
A gripping tale that would appeal to fans of Jodi Picoult and Joanna Trollope... A page turning book to while away a winter's evening. * Red Online on After the Fall *
Jodi Picoult had better look over her shoulder - she's got a new contender by the name of Charity Norman. * Sydney Morning Herald on After the Fall *
Easy to read, hard to put down, it'll move you to tears. * Easy Living on Freeing Grace *
Will appeal to devotees of Joanna Trollope and Jodi Picoult... [Norman] is hot on their heels. * Daily Mail on Freeing Grace *

You may also be interested in...

Piranesi
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Eight Detectives
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Normal People
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Manningtree Witches
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Beautiful World, Where Are You
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
Go Tell the Bees that I Am Gone
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
The Promise
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
Silverview
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
Shuggie Bain
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Vanishing Half
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Song of Achilles
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.99
Paperback
Girl A
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Hamnet
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo
Added to basket

“enchanting”

A highly recommended read, this book has everything you could want from a novel. It has pain, heartache, sadness, love, tolerance and acceptance, regarding a real life senario that still shocks and offends people... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 48

“Excellent”

I'm not sure why or how I've missed Charity Norman's books in the past, but after reading The New Woman, I have now bought all three of her back catalogue and if The New Woman is anything to go by, then... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 32

“Really good read”

I have read most of the novels written by Charity Norman and they have all been brilliant.
This novel explores family relationships and understanding extremely well.
A brilliant insight into people who are... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 28

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.