The Son-in-Law - Charity Norman Reading-Group Fiction (Paperback)
  • The Son-in-Law - Charity Norman Reading-Group Fiction (Paperback)
zoom

The Son-in-Law - Charity Norman Reading-Group Fiction (Paperback)

(author)
4 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 400 Pages / Published: 06/03/2014
  • We can order this from the publisher

Usually dispatched within 10 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

On a sharp winter's morning, a man turns his back on prison. Joseph Scott has served his term. He's lost almost everything: his career as a teacher, his wife, the future he'd envisaged. All he has left are his three children but he is not allowed anywhere near them.

This is the story of Joseph, who killed his wife, Zoe. Of their three children who witnessed the event. Of Zoe's parents, Hannah and Frederick, who are bringing up the children and can't forgive or understand Joseph.

They slowly adjust to life without Zoe, until the day Joseph is released from prison...

Publisher: Allen & Unwin
ISBN: 9781743316696
Number of pages: 400
Weight: 370 g
Dimensions: 197 x 131 x 30 mm
Edition: Main


MEDIA REVIEWS
Engrossing. * Woman and Home *
The author's third novel, this is another wonderful and very thought-provoking story that I consumed in a single day. * The Sun *
A gripping tale that would appeal to fans of Jodi Picoult and Joanna Trollope... A page turning book to while away a winter's evening. * Red Online on After the Fall *
Original, wonderfully written and utterly gripping, this is a corker of a tale. * The Sun on After the Fall *
Jodi Picoult had better look over her shoulder - she's got a new contender by the name of Charity Norman. * Sydney Morning Herald on After the Fall *
Will appeal to devotees of Joanna Trollope and Jodi Picoult... [Norman] is hot on their heels. * Daily Mail on Freeing Grace *
Easy to read, hard to put down, it'll move you to tears. * Easy Living on Freeing Grace *

You may also be interested in...

The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Small Pleasures
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
It Ends With Us
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Manningtree Witches
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Girl A
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Beautiful World, Where Are You
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
One August Night
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Midnight Library
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Judge's List
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Shuggie Bain
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Go Tell the Bees that I Am Gone
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo
Added to basket
Never
Added to basket
£20.00   £17.99
Hardback
The Cat Who Saved Books
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Hardback
The Vanishing Half
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“heartfelt, compelling”

I really enjoyed "After the fall" by Charity Norman so bought this book straight away and this novel was also brilliant.
The characters have strong emotional conflicts going on which makes for a very... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 73

“Fantastic”

The son in law by charity Norman.

Well I had no idea what to expect having never read any of charity's books before.
It sounded fantastic, perhaps a little like Jodi picoult I thought?
So I settled down to read... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 53

“An amazing story told from a different perspective”

I loved this book. The first time in 2 years that all of my book group agreed that they loved a book. Since then I have sought out more of her books and bought this one for friends. You have to share something this... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 43

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.