A Consuming Fire (Paperback)
  • A Consuming Fire (Paperback)
zoom

A Consuming Fire (Paperback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 368 Pages
Published: 09/11/2023
  • We can order this from the publisher

Usually dispatched within 2 weeks

  • This item has been added to your basket

“Achingly lovely and luminous…left me completely enthralled.” —Erin A. Craig, New York Times bestselling author of House of Salt and Sorrows

Uprooted meets The Grace Year in this dark young adult fantasy of love and vengeance following a girl who vows to kill a god after her sister is unjustly slain by his hand “that will appeal to readers of Leigh Bardugo and Holly Black” (School Library Journal).

Weatherell girls aren’t supposed to die.

Once every eighteen years, the isolated forest village of Weatherell is asked to send one girl to the god of the mountain to give a sacrifice before returning home. Twins Anya and Ilva Astraea are raised with this destiny in mind, and when their time comes, spirited Ilva volunteers to go. Her devoted sister Anya is left at home to pray for Ilva’s safe return. But Anya’s prayers are denied.

With her sister dead, Anya volunteers to make a journey of her own to visit the god of the mountain. But unlike her sister, sacrifice is the furthest thing from Anya’s mind. Anya has no intention of giving anything more to the god, or of letting any other girl do so ever again. Anya Astraea has not set out to placate a god. She’s set out to kill one.

Publisher: Simon & Schuster
ISBN: 9781665902717
Number of pages: 368
Weight: 270 g
Dimensions: 210 x 140 x 20 mm
Edition: Reprint


MEDIA REVIEWS

“Achingly lovely and luminous, Weymouth weaves a tale of vengeance and mercy that left me completely enthralled. I’ll be thinking about the Weatherell girls for a very long time to come.” - Erin A. Craig, New York Times bestselling author of House of Salt and Sorrows

"Once again, Weymouth delivers a story full of lyrically-spun atmosphere and ferocious spirit that you'll be thinking about long after it's done." - Lauren Blackwood, New York Times bestselling author of Within These Wicked Walls

"A Consuming Fire is delicate and devastating, a heart-wrenching exploration of faith, mercy, and how worship can twist on axes of power." - Hannah Whitten, New York Times bestselling author of For the Wolf

"With exquisite prose and fiery characters, A Consuming Fire will fulfill readers in search of stories about sisterhood, courage, and love in all the forms it takes." - Nafiza Azad, author of The Wild Ones

"At its heart, A Consuming Fire is a story of resilience and courage. Weymouth’s spellbinding fantasy adventure celebrates the indomitable strength of the human spirit when up against the impossible." - Sarah Raughley, author of The Bones of Ruin

“I adored this fierce and beautiful book. I long to give it to every girl who ever wanted to fight a god. - Erin Bow, Award-winning author of The Scorpion Rules

You may also be interested in...

The Baddies
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Looshkin: Honk If You See It!
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Good Girl, Bad Blood
Added to basket
Reckless
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Frog's Day Out
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Board book
Reckless
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Tom Gates: Book of Everything
Added to basket
£12.99   £9.99
Hardback
Fearless
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
If Only I Had Told Her
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
As Good As Dead
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Powerless
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
Powerful
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Ruthless Vows
Added to basket
£14.99
Hardback
Reckless
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
Dork Diaries: I Love Paris!
Added to basket

“ACF”

This...was a book. It was definitely a book and it had an interesting summary to draw me in, killing a god to avenge her sister? I was 100% on board. Unfortunately I just didn't realize how this was going to draw... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: