Beyond the Ties of Blood: A Novel (Hardback)
  • Beyond the Ties of Blood: A Novel (Hardback)
zoom

Beyond the Ties of Blood: A Novel (Hardback)

(author)
£18.99
Hardback 352 Pages / Published: 22/08/2012
  • Temporarily unavailable

Currently unavailable to order

Email me when available

Stay one step ahead and let us notify you when this item is next available to order

In the political aftermath of the 1973 Chilean coup, Eugenia Aldunate is imprisoned and tortured. Her lover, Manuel, is savagely killed, one of the countless "disappeared" that would haunt Chile's collective memory for decades. While still in the torture camp, Eugenia discovers she is pregnant and is exiled to Mexico and then to the United States to raise her daughter alone, forbidden to return. She builds a quiet life for herself as a journalist and professor, but the scars on her arms do not allow her to bury her past. Each night she aches for her homeland while fighting to suppress the horrific nightmares that still plague her.

Nearly twenty years after her exile, Eugenia is called back to Chile to testify in Manuel's case and help seek justice for the others who disappeared. A rare living witness to these "camps," Eugenia must come to grips with the legacy of violence and traumas left by Pinochet's dictatorship and find truth and solace in the stories of those she left behind.

In the tradition of Kiran Desai's The Inheritance of Loss and Julia Alvarez's In the Time of Butterflies, Beyond the Ties of Blood is a tribute to the resilience of the human spirit and the transcendence of family.

Publisher: Pegasus Books
ISBN: 9781605983288
Number of pages: 352
Weight: 527 g
Dimensions: 236 x 160 x 33 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
"Challenges the reader to reconsider their perceptions of history. Bold, fascinating, and highly original." -- Arturo Arias, former president of the Latin American Studies Association
""Engrossing and complex. Florencia Mallon immerses readers in a vivid world in which family, political turmoil, and romance intersect. A powerful story told with wisdom and compassion."" -- Curtis Sittenfeld, author of Prep and American Wife
"Florencia Mallon combines a historian's sensitivity and an ethnographer's attention to culture to capture life in the midst of rapid social transformation." -- Greg Grandin, author of The Last Colonial Massacre: Latin America in the Cold War

You may also be interested in...

Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Dark Remains
Added to basket
A Single Thread
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Agent Running in the Field
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Sentinel
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback
A Slow Fire Burning
Added to basket
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£14.99   £10.99
Hardback
The Confession
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Beekeeper of Aleppo
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Shuggie Bain
Added to basket
£14.99   £7.50
Hardback
Hamnet
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
Girl, Woman, Other
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Pine
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Those Who Are Loved
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Troubled Blood
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
The Midnight Library
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.