Motorhome Prophecies: A Journey of Healing and Forgiveness (Hardback)
  • Motorhome Prophecies: A Journey of Healing and Forgiveness (Hardback)
zoom

Motorhome Prophecies: A Journey of Healing and Forgiveness (Hardback)

(author)
£25.00
Hardback 336 Pages
Published: 14/03/2024
  • We can order this from the publisher

Expected to be dispatched within 6-8 weeks

  • This item has been added to your basket

In the vein of Educated and Hillbilly Elegy comes a young woman's memoir chronicling her harrowing journey from despair to salvation that showcases the depths and resilience of the human spirit and empowers readers on their own paths toward healing, forgiveness, and redemption.

Carrie Sheffield grew up fifth of eight children with a violent, mentally ill, street-musician father who believed he was a modern-day Mormon prophet destined to become U.S. president someday. She and her seven siblings were often forced to live as vagabonds, remaining on the move across the country. They frequently subsisted in sheds, tents, and, most notably, motorhomes. They often lived a dysfunctional drifter existence, camping out in their motorhome in Walmart parking lots. Carrie attended 17 public schools and home school, all while performing classical music on the streets and passing out fire-and-brimstone religious pamphlets-at times while child custody workers loomed.

Carrie's father was eventually excommunicated from the official LDS Church for his false prophecies, and she was the first of her siblings to escape the toxic brainwashing of his fundamentalist creed. Declared legally estranged from her parents, Carrie struggled with her mental health during college and for most of her adult life. But she eventually seized control of her life, transcended her troubled past, and overcame her toxic inner voice (and a near death experience)-thanks to the power of forgiveness, cultivated through her conversion to Christianity. She evolved from a scared and abused motorhome-dwelling girl to a Harvard-educated professional with a passion for empowering others to reject the cycles of poverty, depression, and self-hatred.

Motorhome Prophecies is the story of Carrie's unbelievable, yet in many ways, very American journey. It resonates with those trapped in difficult situations and awes all who are enchanted by the depths and resilience of the human spirit.

Publisher: Little, Brown & Company
ISBN: 9781546004387
Number of pages: 336
Weight: 560 g
Dimensions: 230 x 156 x 32 mm

You may also be interested in...

Knife
Added to basket
£20.00   £17.99
Hardback
Keira & Me
Added to basket
£18.99   £13.99
Hardback
The Twat Files
Added to basket
£22.00
Hardback
Landlines
Added to basket
£10.99   £8.99
Paperback
Poor
Added to basket
£10.99   £9.49
Paperback
And Away...
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
brother. do. you. love. me.
Added to basket
£10.99   £9.49
Paperback
The House of Hidden Meanings
Added to basket
£22.00   £16.99
Hardback
The Farmer's Wife
Added to basket
£10.99   £8.99
Paperback
My Name is Barbra
Added to basket
£35.00   £27.99
Hardback
I Want to Die but I Want to Eat Tteokbokki
Added to basket
Politics On the Edge
Added to basket
£22.00   £18.99
Hardback
Strong Female Character
Added to basket
£10.99   £9.49
Paperback
The Trading Game
Added to basket
£25.00   £21.99
Hardback
Friends, Lovers and the Big Terrible Thing
Added to basket
Shakespeare
Added to basket
£25.00   £21.99
Hardback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: